We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a feel good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our second stay at this friendly inn, ideal for visits to Highgrove House
Arranged by the hotel on certain dates during the year, there are also other
Interesting local places e.g the lovely town of Tetbury and Westonbirt
Arbaretum(almost next door) .
The most outstanding feature of this hotel is the quality of all the
the dining experiences Main Restaurant particularly,but also Bar
Meals, and the Breakfasts. Altogether a very pleasant part of the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: All appear Ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikitiboodudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Kids at the grans- the other half finishing work at 4 pm. A perfect weekend ahead :-) Just needed somewhere to stay. After checking some specialised offpeakluxury websites I came across this fantastic hotel. Upon checking in we were immediately upgraded to a better room at no extra charge and wow!!. A beautiful room overlooking the gardens- spacious with separate seating in form of a sofa/table and chair and an extra table for those that need to work extra-huge comfortable bed which was big enough to get lost in :-) Included in our package was a full sized bottle of champagne/chocolates and a full set of Molton Brown toiletries- the misses loved it.
The staff were all attentive and professional without being too 'over the top and fake' but very friendly. We had also the 8 course taster menu and I have to say the quality was fantastic. The chef does love his work and deserves the accolades. The downside/negatives?... hmmm... Yes I was not able to stay longer on this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited this hotel for our wedding anniversary and were very pleased with our room and all the amenities.
There was a wedding reception taking place but this did not interfere with our stay as the staff had allocated us with a quiet room as requested.
The restaurant was very comfortable and the food excellent.
Very convenient for Westonbirt Arboretum and would definitely stay again as we want to visit Highgrove which is also close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel and the room was very quiet and comfortable. We did not see any of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We arrived for a 3 night stay at the end of Badminton Horse Trials, so the hotel was, initially, very busy. However, we were given a lovely room in one of the annexes, with a super king bed, which I had requested. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We ate in the bar, and the food was fairly typical bar fare, but good nonetheless. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, a real treat. I was very impressed that none of the additional items, such as smoked salmon or smoked haddock came with a supplement. Service was first class. This hotel is in a lovely part of the country, and we will definitely visit again, hopefully soon!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CathOWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our lovely Cotswold hotel and gardens. We love Breakfast, it is sometimes the only meal a guest takes with us , so we try to keep it fresh, interesting and really great quality. We are lucky enough to have a lovely Breakfast chef who delights in making home made muesli and a variety of muffins and cereal bars. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel and grounds were lovely, restaurant and bar offered great food and wine but the bedroom was like a sauna. No air con and very small window overlooking a patio area.
Room was nice, facilities were good but it very difficult to be comfortable when it was so hot. I suppose as the hotel is old then you cannot expect all the mod cons but it would have been nice to have them
Only stopped the one night so didn't ask to be moved or kick up any fuss.
Evening meal good and breakfast was pretty special - not your usual routine cheep bacon and sausage but some really nice quality options, lots of fresh fruit and extras - v v nice.
Staff helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air con if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for letting me know your feelings about your recent stay at the Hare and Hounds. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel generally, but am so sorry to hear that you suffered in silence. As we say, all very well in hind-sight, but we would have been only too pleased to supply you with a fan. It is lovely to have a hot Summer, but it definitely doesn't suit all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased with the hotel, its staff, the food and our rooms. For an English hotel, the rooms were very spacious, as well as the bathrooms.

The receptionists were very kind and accommodated all our requests.

Food at the restaurant was delicious and they serve a wide variety of local and international dishes. Definitely save some room for desserts here!

The location of the hotel was also great, just 10 minutes from the center of Tetbury, in a nice little quiet area in front of a field with grazing horses. The property is surrounded by beautiful gardens as well, and even offers a tennis court.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor, especially if you have lots of luggage. Because it is an old Engl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSchicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review which is sure to prove helpful to mant travellers. You gave a neat ' guests eye view' of those all important features like - good food, comfort and peace and quiet. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cotswolds at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Was given this hotel break for a gift that included a Sunday lunch and an overnight stay. When we checked in the lovely receptionist gave us an upgrade to our room. We went to the dinning room where we were given a complementary glass of wine. We were given the menu with good selection of starters main courses and sweets we chose the lamb they asked how we wanted it cooked. The meals were very good and a excellent team of staff, White linen tablecloths and napkins. We had a nice table window that overlooked the grounds. After lunch we sat out in the grounds and being a lovely sunny day. made it a very pleasant afternoon. Our bedroom was lovely with large bed tastefully decorated room. Complementary tea coffee biscuits. Breakfast was 1st class with a good range to choose from. For me this was very nice and the best part it was free as I had received this package as a gift.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 in the main hotel it overlooked the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

What a lovely gift to give. An enjoyable experience and relaxing time spent with someone you care for. I am very pleased that we were able to be part of that and were able to contribute towards the quality of the gift. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I will pass on your kind comments to all our hard working staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
885 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 7 in Tetbury
682 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 7 in Tetbury
535 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: $131 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing