We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days on a trip to the Cotswolds. We stayed in the Silkwood block in the lilac room which was not in the main hotel but not far. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. The staff were most courteous and breakfast was a real pleasure with plenty of choice. We had our main meal in the evening at Jack Hares bar, the food was delicious, tasty and with lots of choice. Would defiantly recommend, and would return to stay and to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation. The bar team were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed the food and ambience in Jack Hare's. The market for this style of operation is very competetive, so its good to hear that your experience was so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
There are newer reviews for The Hare and Hounds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a wonderful stay - we are already planning a return visit. We found all the staff extremely helpful & accommodating. We visited both Westonbirt & Highgrove to which this hotel is perfectly located , Reception even produced the tickets for us. The food in the hotel was excellent & the waiting staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We also ate twice in Jacks Hares bar and enjoy both meals, They were freshly prepared, tasty and enjoyable. Overall a wonderful stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys high-class food in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our Hotel, it is very informative and gives a clear picture of your personal feelings about your stay. I am so pleased that you found the whole experience to be satisfactory and reasonable value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Hotel looks beautiful and is a wonderful building. However my personal experience was poor. I had family rooms which bearing in mind you are pretty likely to have multiple children and possibly toddlers and a lot of clobber, were simply miles away at the back of the note. Lugging suitcases there and back plus the children was a complete chore. The rooms themselves were very average indeed and could really do with upgrading. We then ate in Jack Hare's bar where the food and service were nothing short of abysmal. I had a fish dish which was quite possible the smaller main course I had ever witnessed. On top of that nothing was properly prepared or freshly cooked, everything was mass catering supplied. I returned one of the main courses and had two comped. The privilege cost me £400.00 for one night, not one ever to be repeated and I would strongly recommend people avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RDG1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you found your recent stay disappointing and appreciate that the family room is some distance from reception, unfortunately we have just one room of that type.
Your comments regarding dishes you had in the bar have been taken very seriously and addressed by the bar kitchen team. I understand that you did not enjoy the food but I am sorry to hear that you percieved the food as 'mass catering', and assure you that this is not the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We met a relative in Jack Hares Bar for Sunday lunch. The hotel is in a great location but we were dissappointed over the main bar meals we ordered which were expensive (mine was £13.95) and were small portions. These sort of prices are pretty steep for a Bar. There was a Sunday roast but this was not on the menu and you had to ask if they did one. We asked about a sweet and were advised that the portions were very small so we decided not to pay £5.95 for one. Overall exoensive for a bar and therefore not good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. I have taken note of the concerns expressed regarding value for money and thank you for that feedback. It is very helpful to understand how you as a paying guest percieve value in a menu and we will be able to act upon your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A two night stay for my wife and I to celebrate her birthday, and have a break from the kids. Our initial reaction on driving in to the grounds was that it was very well kept and looked very pleasant. This initial perception was maintained on entering the premises and also upon entering our room (a Silwood room) that was spacious, well equipped for a short stay and in very good decorative order. Whilst the bar and the hotel were possibly a little reserved, formal and quiet for our personal taste, everybody we encountered at the hotel was extremely accommodating and keen to please. I would happily recommend this hotel, and if we find ourselves back in this part of the country I would be more than happy to stay again. Thank you for a helping us enjoy a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Silwood room which are located in separate buildings at the back of the hotel. They are further away...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryndles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a lovely night away here. Hotel staff were friendly, nothing too much trouble. Rooms were clean, bright and tastefully decorated and the food in the restaurant was prepared and served to a very high standard and what you expect from a rosette restaurant. All in all a great stay in a very pretty, traditional English hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Magnolia suite in an outside block which were superbly furnished to a high standard a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cob190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are really quite used to staying in the very best hotels, so were quite worried about booking this hotel as a last minute booking, as our usual hotels were fully booked. I was worried that it would be unpleasant and noisy etc given some of the less positive reviews. What a wonderful surprise it turned out to be!

To our relief and pleasure our rooms were wonderful! We booked the family suite and it was decorated in a lovely red cheerful gingham style which really added to the lovely atmosphere and cottage style rooms. The hotel had a wonderful atmosphere even in the deepest, darkest month of the year. The roaring fires, warm service and candlelight made the hotel feel so welcoming and a happy place to be.

We could not hear any noise and slept very well all night ~ the beds were very comfortable and homely.

The dinner in the evening was really great, the dining hall is magnificent and far exceeded our expectations of a hotel of this grade. As did the breakfast and the service. This hotel is a very well run, enjoyable place to stay, we were very happy with everything ~ we felt the price was very reasonable for the quality of the rooms, the service and we have very high hopes that this hotel will continue to flourish and prosper. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
404 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
814 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
512 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
734 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: $166 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing