We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$170
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Priory Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$150
$122
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$91
$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
626
306
120
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
306
120
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaufort restaurantwestonbirt arboretumsilkwood courtgame keepersgamekeepers cottagemolton brown toiletriesthe main hotelmagnolia suitelovely hotelsublime sundaylovely groundsbusy roadsunday lunchsingle roombetween coursesfine dininglounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
787 - 792 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Second time of staying here and it was lovely again. Real value to be had with their bed and breakfast packages also.

I love the lounge and library...just really nice and warming places to be and relax.

Rooms were clean (although we only received 1/3 turndown services) and staff very friendly and helpful.

Will return (although possibly not to eat in the restaurant and was not as up to scratch as the hotel itself)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uniquefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for letting us know what you enjoyed about your recent stay at the Hare and Hounds
I do accept that the style of food we serve in the Restaurant will not appeal to everyone and hope that we offer enough variety with the bar menu as well to suit most people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed as a breakaway over this weekend, they had a few weddings on over the weekend and they did there best to control the wedding guests to the best that they could, we were greeted by the food and beverage manager I think his name was michael? We read the previous review regarding the hotel service etc... And total disagree with them! As we found the manager very welcoming and cheerful in every way not at all sour or strict. But at the end of the day you would need to be a bit strict with his staff to get the excellent service that we received through our stay. He was welcoming and a lovely chap! The rest of his staff were welcoming and very attentive. The reception staff to we're lovely and very helpful nothing was too much for them, a lovely man at reception too by the name of Guy was helpful and nice to talk to as well.

We well recommend this hotel to all our friends as its a lovely hotel to stay at, " A home away from home," for us.

Thank you very much to all the Hare and hounds staff that made our stay so lovely. The manager and owners need to be very proud of here staff at this hotel. We have stayed at many of the other hotels in this group " the Cotswold hotels," and by far the hare and hounds is by far the best, it has taken the place of be Manor hotel in the group (sorry).

Thank you again to all the staff but especially the whole food and beverage team for making our experience one that w will never forget for a long time, THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Eat in he restaurant, the food is excellent, thy have a very talented chef!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent dining experience at the Hare and Hounds. We are so lucky to have a great team of staff who really care about our guests comfort and enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has been recently refurbished and it looks great. They have managed to retain the charm of this quintessentially english hotel while upgrading the facilities. I particularly loved the breakfast and the setting it was in what looked like an old hall. The local villages are beautiful and there are some great walks as well. No wonder the Prince of Wales lives in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so please that the hotel still looks and feels like a 'home from home'. Lots of our guests use the hotel as a base from which to explore the beautiful Cotswold countryside, so your review will be sure to encourage more visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

a friend from Dubai was staying there whilst on a course and invited me for dinner; we took advantage of the reduction for booking in advance. The welcome from the staff and quality of the food are unsurpassed in the area for me. The crispy white table cloths and personal comments from the staff; who have tried the dishes added to the wonderful evening we had. The overall bill of £44 for wine and 6 courses' 3 complimentary, is just amazing. It is more a special occasion venue than regular haunt but the staff would make any occasion special. well done!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the grounds as well as the main house for a quieter night; so my friend tells me
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have known this hotel for over 50 years & although the exterior facade always had great appeal the interior decor used to be very much "faded glory"Now at long last the new owners have injected some style into the furnishings & decor.I stayed for 1 night this week & had a lovely room with a wonderfully comfortable bed.
Bar snacks were good,wine list varied & reasonably priced,staff attentive,& my bill for the stay well within budget.Recomended.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are less prone to traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

I am delighted that you approve of the updated Hare and Hounds. It is really important to us that our guests are comfortable with the style and ambience of the hotel, so thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews