We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We love the Hare & Hounds as it's one of our favourite places to come for something to eat and this time we were once again delighted. The atmosphere in Jack's Bar is always warm and friendly and cosy, but still light and with plenty of space. I wanted a light meal so I ended up having a selection of starters, and they were all delicious: the calamari with light and crispy and perfectly complemented by the paprika aioli; tian of aubergine, tomato and mozzarella was lovely and the crab salad delicious on the toasted brioche. And the onion rings, well, what can I say. I will never want 'ordinary' onion rings again - these light and fluffy creations were absolutely delicious, and I could have easily eaten two portions (but then where would I be with my light dinner?). Full thumbs up again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The team in Jack Hare's kitchen love your photographs. Thank you very much for your positive review which I have posted on the staff notice board. It is really helpful to know that the style and quality of the food is pleasing our guests. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    283
    112
    40
    29
See reviews for
151
578
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's an old country listed house full of character. We had a lovely big room with a very comfortable bed. It was at the front, close to the main road with a lovely big bay window, the windows were original with no double glazing but the noise wasn't too bad and didn't bother me.

I liked the Molton Brown products in the bathroom and the room had tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary water, iron, hair dryer and a good selection of television channels.

Breakfast was good. We sat next to a window with a radiator but think if we hadn't I would have been cold. The hotel had a very good sized lounge and drawing room with an open fire. Very welcome as it was a cold night with lots of snow.

My only downside was the wifi and phone signal but when I approached the receptionist she was extremely helpful and did try to help resolve the wifi. Transpired there was a problem with their connection but she was very courteous to phone the room and inform us later when it was discovered.

Would definitely stay again. Hopefully without the snow as the grounds looked lovely too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetsplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hare and Hounds. Your feedback is balanced and comprehensive and I am sure it will be very helpful for travellers looking for a traditional hotel with caring staff , good food and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was just great, the staff couldnt do enough to make sure our stay was excellant. Very traditional hotel, the bedroom and bathroom were excellant. Everything clean and up-to-date. The food for the evening meal was a total must, the chef did himself proud! The waiting staff were brilliant and very friendly, stopping for a chat in-between courses, which was very nice and very welcoming. I can not fault this hotel or there staff, GREAT, BRILLIANT, EXCELLANT, defo recommend. THANK U TO ALL AT THE HARE AND HOUND FOR A GREAT STAY AND WARM WELCOME!!

Room Tip: We stayed just outside the main hotel within the grounds, the room was first class as was the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliepatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging review. I have pinned it to the staff noticeboard and they are all thrilled that they met your expectations and that you had such a great time. We all hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was a cold night, but not unusual for a British winter but the rooms were very cold. No help with luggage. The room was a good size with an inviting bed. The barhroom was ridiculously small and the lavatory squashed against the wash basin. I tried to fill a kettle to make some tea but the spout too small for the tap and so the lavatory and floor were wet, lots of mopping up!! The television was wall mounted but next to the bathroom and could not be viewed in any comfort.
The dining room had a bow window which was curtained against the draught but sadly we were at a table without the benefit of curtains and were very cold. The meal was very disappointing, everything had to be different with a juxtaposition of flavours which didn't work.

Sleep for me was an hour and then a night listening to very heavy traffic.

Breakfast was a sorry affair for a hotel which has been praised by so many.

My last complaint was that as a 'dog friendly hotel' there were no bins for 'poo bags', on asking where to put them, we were told to throw them in the garden!

Room Tip: Room 9 overlooks the Bath Road and the noise from lorries and other traffic made sleep impossible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay , sadly, we seem to have failed in almost every area, so we are disappointed as well. We are normally aware when guests are bringing dogs to the hotel and allocate one of our dog friendly rooms which are set in the grounds and have easy access to garden walks, We also supply a bed, bowl and feeding mat for your pet. We were suprised to see your two beautiful animals trotting down the stairs in the main building and thought it a shame that they had missed out on our doggy hospitality. The location of the 'poo bins' in the garden is shown on our 'dog walking' map which is placed in dog friendly rooms for arrivals. Having checked with the Receptionist you spoke with regarding the bins, she actually advised that if you couldn't find one, to leave the bag outside by the hedge and the gardener would collect it. Our staff are all very proud of the Hotel's appearance and would not suggest throwing anything onto the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended by the owner of ourB &B. to try the pub side of the Hare and Houndswe found the service excellent and unobtrusive, the two lads working were quietly efficient.we had a very good meal with fast service,well cooked and tasty,would recommend .

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Jack Hare's Bar. The team work very hard, so it is good to know that we are striking the right note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic night away. Hotel warm and friendly (lovely log fire) food excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for £118 - Sunday lunch (three courses with glass of wine) then bed and breakfast.Would go there again.

Room Tip: We were in the front of the main part of the hotel, although the road to Bath was outside it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I am so pleased you have discovered Sublime Sunday. It is one of our unique offers which gives you a real 'get away from it all' feeling. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Set in an almost perfect rural spot close to the Westonbirt Arboretum, The Hare and Hounds never fails to impress with its warm friendly service, and a menu and wine list to satisfy everyone.
The gamekeepers Lodge offers that extra something, but for preference I have now stayed in room 14 on four occasions and never been disappointed. I just love this room !
This year we are booking our fourth successive annual company Christmas weekend at the hotel, and can honestly say that none of my 80 or so guests have ever had anything but compliments and appreciation of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. You have given a very clear picture of the Hotel's ambience and offering which is sure to be very helpful to guests on the lookout for a welcoming country hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing