We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$169
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Priory Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
626
306
120
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
306
120
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaufort restaurantwestonbirt arboretumsilkwood courtgame keepersgamekeepers cottagemolton brown toiletriesthe main hotelmagnolia suitelovely hotelsublime sundaylovely groundsbusy roadsunday lunchsingle roombetween coursesfine dininglounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
813 - 818 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was just great, the staff couldnt do enough to make sure our stay was excellant. Very traditional hotel, the bedroom and bathroom were excellant. Everything clean and up-to-date. The food for the evening meal was a total must, the chef did himself proud! The waiting staff were brilliant and very friendly, stopping for a chat in-between courses, which was very nice and very welcoming. I can not fault this hotel or there staff, GREAT, BRILLIANT, EXCELLANT, defo recommend. THANK U TO ALL AT THE HARE AND HOUND FOR A GREAT STAY AND WARM WELCOME!!

Room Tip: We stayed just outside the main hotel within the grounds, the room was first class as was the bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliepatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your encouraging review. I have pinned it to the staff noticeboard and they are all thrilled that they met your expectations and that you had such a great time. We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was a cold night, but not unusual for a British winter but the rooms were very cold. No help with luggage. The room was a good size with an inviting bed. The barhroom was ridiculously small and the lavatory squashed against the wash basin. I tried to fill a kettle to make some tea but the spout too small for the tap and so the lavatory and floor were wet, lots of mopping up!! The television was wall mounted but next to the bathroom and could not be viewed in any comfort.
The dining room had a bow window which was curtained against the draught but sadly we were at a table without the benefit of curtains and were very cold. The meal was very disappointing, everything had to be different with a juxtaposition of flavours which didn't work.

Sleep for me was an hour and then a night listening to very heavy traffic.

Breakfast was a sorry affair for a hotel which has been praised by so many.

My last complaint was that as a 'dog friendly hotel' there were no bins for 'poo bags', on asking where to put them, we were told to throw them in the garden!

Room Tip: Room 9 overlooks the Bath Road and the noise from lorries and other traffic made sleep impossible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay , sadly, we seem to have failed in almost every area, so we are disappointed as well. We are normally aware when guests are bringing dogs to the hotel and allocate one of our dog friendly rooms which are set in the grounds and have easy access to garden walks, We also supply a bed, bowl and feeding mat for your pet. We were suprised to see your two beautiful animals trotting down the stairs in the main building and thought it a shame that they had missed out on our doggy hospitality. The location of the 'poo bins' in the garden is shown on our 'dog walking' map which is placed in dog friendly rooms for arrivals. Having checked with the Receptionist you spoke with regarding the bins, she actually advised that if you couldn't find one, to leave the bag outside by the hedge and the gardener would collect it. Our staff are all very proud of the Hotel's appearance and would not suggest throwing anything onto the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were recommended by the owner of ourB &B. to try the pub side of the Hare and Houndswe found the service excellent and unobtrusive, the two lads working were quietly efficient.we had a very good meal with fast service,well cooked and tasty,would recommend .

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Jack Hare's Bar. The team work very hard, so it is good to know that we are striking the right note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic night away. Hotel warm and friendly (lovely log fire) food excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for £118 - Sunday lunch (three courses with glass of wine) then bed and breakfast.Would go there again.

Room Tip: We were in the front of the main part of the hotel, although the road to Bath was outside it was very quiet. Bedroom was very large.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

I am so pleased you have discovered Sublime Sunday. It is one of our unique offers which gives you a real 'get away from it all' feeling. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Set in an almost perfect rural spot close to the Westonbirt Arboretum, The Hare and Hounds never fails to impress with its warm friendly service, and a menu and wine list to satisfy everyone.
The gamekeepers Lodge offers that extra something, but for preference I have now stayed in room 14 on four occasions and never been disappointed. I just love this room !
This year we are booking our fourth successive annual company Christmas weekend at the hotel, and can honestly say that none of my 80 or so guests have ever had anything but compliments and appreciation of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. You have given a very clear picture of the Hotel's ambience and offering which is sure to be very helpful to guests on the lookout for a welcoming country hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews