We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another first rate stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth. UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another first rate stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Once again another first rate stay at this superb hotel.
To be recognised by the staff is always welcoming.
The atmosphere was warm and the Christmas spirit was there in plenty.
The hotel's proximity to Highgrove makes any visit easy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road side are quieter, views overlooking the garden even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your December review.
It is just as nice for us to recognize returning guests. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    280
    110
    39
    28
See reviews for
147
571
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A regular stop over on route to parents, the hare and hounds has it all. We love the dog friendly atmosphere yet good quality rooms with Sea-grass flooring and large rooms.
The pub food is fabulous. In fact we choose to eat in the pub rather than the somewhat over the top restaurant. The atmosphere is better though the views out to the beautiful trees all lit up in their garden is magical.
The smoked and fish platter are great and if you like cider the Pheasant Plucker is one of my favourites!
Looking forward to the next stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnCbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I am delighted that your 'best friend' thinks well enough of us to bring you back regularly!
We try to keep the menus in Jack Hare's bar fresh, interesting and reasonably priced so thank you for your positive feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back with your dog on your next visit to the Cotswolds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

A little treat of a hotel, superb food, helpful staff, lovely room, Molton Brown toiletries and a bottle of champagne on arrival. To be honest I cant fault it at all and I am hard to please. Do not hesitate to book I am booking again! Its a smashing place for a little celebration as they make you feel very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Our staff are greatly encouraged by direct feedback from our guests so I appreciate you taking the time to put your feelings in writing. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

A foul night in Gloucestershire but a warm welcome here. Really pleasant staff in all areas, super room in the main building (63 quid on expedia) and good quality food in the bar area. Only complaint was a bit of a shortage of choice on the bar food, plus fairly expensive starters for bar food. Overall though a lovely Cotswold hotel in a beautiful location

Room Tip: main building rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and booked an eaves room so we'd not have people tramping around above us and were really pleased - the room was big with bags of character, the decor was in good order and central heating on 24/7 which was much needed as it was below zero outside. We weren't disturbed by the road, which is very quiet at night and the views across the fields were lovely. Woke up to the sun streaming across the room, bliss.

Molton Brown goodies make for a really luxurious bath, there was never a problem with hot water and hurrah, the taps didn't drip!

The staff were all very professional and friendly and the two nights we ate in Jack Hare's bar were a real treat, food tasty and not too pricey. We paid £50 for a meal for two that included wine, first courses and mains. The atmosphere is relaxed, jeans no problem. Likewise breakfast was excellent, though sausages were lovely one day, then fatty and grissly the next.

I can't really find fault with the hotel, we loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: High up room overlooking the road gave lovely views, sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We all enjoyed reading your positive review, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay. Chef apologises about the sausages , he won't be using that particular supplier again. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

As already said in other reviews, it's a wonderful property in lovely grounds, with beautiful fixtures and fittings, a super restaurant (and restaurant entry area) and a library that reminded me of the Authors wing in the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok. I stayed in the main house as a solo business traveller on 27 November 2012 - nice cosy small room with a shower that worked well. Breakfast was politely served, cooked fresh to order and of good quality. The only disappointment is the counter/bar in the Jack Hares pub in the building. The rooms in the pub area are nice (lovely log fire too) with good tables, etc, but the actual counter/bar area is unwelcoming and looks more like that in a cheap working men's club (i.e. functional and characterless) and is too low. Staff in the bar were functional and not particularly welcoming, unlike the reception staff who were most kind and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your observations are very much appreciated. When we re-furbished Jack Hare's bar the response to its new look was generally very favourable , however, I do accept that we cannot expect to win everyone's approval. Thank you for your comments which have been passed on to the appropriate person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

All good; staff could not have been more attentive while retaining a sense of being human! Loved the place and the atmosphere. Could someone spend a little time sorting out (safe) walks from the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koolyanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review following a recent stay at the Hare and Hounds. I am very pleased to hear that service was of a good standard and that you enjoyed the visit. We have a walkers map for guests at the front desk showing three local Ordnance Survey recommended walks and the National Arboretum just a few minutes away down the road with miles of delightful walks. Walkers can take their dogs as well, and there is a picnic area for use in the Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing