We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$162
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Priory Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holford Arms(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$90
$40
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cat and Custard Pot Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak House No1(Tetbury)
$798
$642
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveler rating
630
307
120
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
307
120
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaufort restaurantwestonbirt arboretumsilkwood courtgame keepersgamekeepers cottagemolton brown toiletriesthe main hotelmagnolia suitelovely hotelsublime sundaylovely groundsbusy roadsunday lunchsingle roombetween coursesfine dininglounge area
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

A little treat of a hotel, superb food, helpful staff, lovely room, Molton Brown toiletries and a bottle of champagne on arrival. To be honest I cant fault it at all and I am hard to please. Do not hesitate to book I am booking again! Its a smashing place for a little celebration as they make you feel very special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Our staff are greatly encouraged by direct feedback from our guests so I appreciate you taking the time to put your feelings in writing. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A foul night in Gloucestershire but a warm welcome here. Really pleasant staff in all areas, super room in the main building (63 quid on expedia) and good quality food in the bar area. Only complaint was a bit of a shortage of choice on the bar food, plus fairly expensive starters for bar food. Overall though a lovely Cotswold hotel in a beautiful location

Room Tip: main building rooms are very good
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and booked an eaves room so we'd not have people tramping around above us and were really pleased - the room was big with bags of character, the decor was in good order and central heating on 24/7 which was much needed as it was below zero outside. We weren't disturbed by the road, which is very quiet at night and the views across the fields were lovely. Woke up to the sun streaming across the room, bliss.

Molton Brown goodies make for a really luxurious bath, there was never a problem with hot water and hurrah, the taps didn't drip!

The staff were all very professional and friendly and the two nights we ate in Jack Hare's bar were a real treat, food tasty and not too pricey. We paid £50 for a meal for two that included wine, first courses and mains. The atmosphere is relaxed, jeans no problem. Likewise breakfast was excellent, though sausages were lovely one day, then fatty and grissly the next.

I can't really find fault with the hotel, we loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: High up room overlooking the road gave lovely views, sunny in the morning.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We all enjoyed reading your positive review, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay. Chef apologises about the sausages , he won't be using that particular supplier again. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

As already said in other reviews, it's a wonderful property in lovely grounds, with beautiful fixtures and fittings, a super restaurant (and restaurant entry area) and a library that reminded me of the Authors wing in the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok. I stayed in the main house as a solo business traveller on 27 November 2012 - nice cosy small room with a shower that worked well. Breakfast was politely served, cooked fresh to order and of good quality. The only disappointment is the counter/bar in the Jack Hares pub in the building. The rooms in the pub area are nice (lovely log fire too) with good tables, etc, but the actual counter/bar area is unwelcoming and looks more like that in a cheap working men's club (i.e. functional and characterless) and is too low. Staff in the bar were functional and not particularly welcoming, unlike the reception staff who were most kind and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your observations are very much appreciated. When we re-furbished Jack Hare's bar the response to its new look was generally very favourable , however, I do accept that we cannot expect to win everyone's approval. Thank you for your comments which have been passed on to the appropriate person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

All good; staff could not have been more attentive while retaining a sense of being human! Loved the place and the atmosphere. Could someone spend a little time sorting out (safe) walks from the property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koolyanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your review following a recent stay at the Hare and Hounds. I am very pleased to hear that service was of a good standard and that you enjoyed the visit. We have a walkers map for guests at the front desk showing three local Ordnance Survey recommended walks and the National Arboretum just a few minutes away down the road with miles of delightful walks. Walkers can take their dogs as well, and there is a picnic area for use in the Summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews