We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How the mighty have fallen”
Review of The Close Hotel

The Close Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Whether you’re ambling down Tetbury High Street, meeting with friends, celebrating a special occasion or staying in one of our rooms – everybody’s welcome to dine at The Close. We have a dining space to suit any occasion with sumptuous menus to match. Our food is prepared with passion, infused by an excellent selection of fresh, seasonal ingredients available to us right here on our doorstep.
Tetbury
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How the mighty have fallen”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are residents of Tetbury and had used The Close for many years from the late 1980s until the lovely family who ran the hotel sold up. Until then we were extremely happy with the level of service and the quality of the fare. It had been a traditional, well run establishment.

Since then it has changed hands on numerous occasions and each time it has had a new owner we have gone along hoping to replicate our previous experiences. Unfortunately, each time we have been increasingly disappointed. I thought that the nadir of service and quality was when it was owned by Virgin but have changed my view since eating there yesterday, 24 October 2013. It's even worse!

The décor now is bland and soulless. The restaurant, where previously laid with good linen and decoration, now resembles a transport café. But, the most disappointing thing of all was the food. All three courses were tasteless, boring and seemed as if they had not been freshly cooked (judging by the waiting time they would have had time to prepare them to order). The wine was awful and, for the quality, very expensive.

We went along with friends and were extremely embarrassed by the whole experience - nil points!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    67
    31
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A real fire and excellent food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chanced upon this by luck; we were staying at the Hare and Hounds and didn't want to wait over an hour for dinner, so we drove into Tetbury and dropped into The Close. It was very quiet in the bar area although the restaurant was doing a trade. We both had a rib eye steak that came with a mushroom sauce and an onion confit along with chips cooked in dripping. To say it was 'good' does not do the meal justice. In the words of Mr Winner, it was 'historic'. I can't say any more than that.

It seems to have had some mixed reviews (and I might not have gone if I had read them beforehand), so might be worth enquiring if the chef has changed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely garden, great fish & chips”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We called on a weekday lunchtime. Lovely garden setting. The best fish and chips. The batter was crispy and light and the chips perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller300547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average is all I can say and that would be generous”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Set Lunch £12.50 for 2 coures £15 for 3, the service was entusiastic and friendly but the food was very average and did not live up to the service and pleasant surroundings with the puddings being even less than average with a bread pudding straight from school dinners and a brulee which was totaly liquid under the crust, a sad lunch only brightened by the staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glosexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food. Hot prices.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the place to go if you want to get a great set menu. Prices were really good and food was exceptional standard for the price. We went for both lunch and dinner on a recent stay to Tetbury.
Try to get a table by the window looking out into the lovely gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Close Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing