We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge pizzas”
Review of The Priory Inn

The Priory Inn
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Huge pizzas”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

On a snow covered night, we went along to be met by a warm, friendly place and a huge roaring fire. The food was good and the average price. I would go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank penkiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    141
    55
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter Weekend Food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and my wife came to Tetbury for a weekend break just to chill out. We stayed at the Snooty Fox - we asked friends who lived locally where we should go for food and they said the Priory without doubt and to make sure we had Pizza.

There is no surprise that a lot of the reviews here compliment the Pizzas, its probably because they are VERY VERY good.

I also thought i would give a mention to our waiter from cyprus Georgio who was very attentive. Great guy and i think the restaurant should know how great he was with us.

Anyways. We would reccommend the Pork Confi Pizza.

Thanks Priory:) and the main man Georgio

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevanduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had a recent 3-night stay in Tetbury. Read great reviews about the Priory inn and booked for our first night in advance. We loved it so much we went again all 3 nights! It's a fantastic place on all counts - great ambiance, great service and the food is excellent. There is an a' la carte menu, daily specials board and also a wood-fired pizza oven menu. All three meals we had there were fantastic. Very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was great - open log fire in the dining area, big Christmas tree and just generally a really good feeling about the place. Well worth a visit. Staff and service were great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good start to Christmas”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Friends who live in Tetbury booked us in here for a Christmas meal on our trip to visit. Not usually a fan of restaurant Chrimbo menus but this one had enough variety and it was easy to find something other than turkey with all the trimmings to choose. To start we went for the mushrooms in blue cheese sauce and haddock terrine – both very nice. The mushrooms needed bread to mop up the sauce which although not supplied was quickly brought when ordered.

For main I had braised should of lamb which was very good. My wife had baked cod which was also good but I was reluctant to swap half way through as we’d previously agreed because the lamb was pretty special. No room for pud but thoroughly enjoyed the 2 courses we did have. The service was very good from all servers including the “new boy” who took our orders.

Not really able to comment on the value as by the end of the meal the 6 of us had got through a fair few tasty beverages on offer!!

We have eaten here before with teenage kids and the menu is very good at catering for all, from pizzas to “proper” meals. One of the many reasons to visit our chums in Tetbury more often!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good selection on menu, staff very helpful and courteous. Restaurant relaxing but could do with the lights diming a little, fire a great feature.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oakleyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Priory Inn also viewed

 
Tetbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing