We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude owner spoilt our stay”
Review of One Market Place

One Market Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tetbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Market Place
Ranked #10 of 15 Tetbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Tetbury is a beautiful, quaint little town and we were delighted to find that our B&B was above a chocolate shop - the perfect setting for our two night stay. I arrived with my husband and friend as we were in Tetbury for a friends wedding. The town centre location is ideal and perfect for those wanting to explore Tetbury.
We arrived earlier than expected as we managed to avoid any traffic. As we walked in to the B&B, excited about the beautiful surroundings and the day to come, we were greeted with what can only be described as a good telling off. We all stood in shock with mouths wide open as we were told "You can't just turn up here, expecting your room to be ready - you should have emailed or called letting me know you were coming early". Not wanting to upset anyone and still slightly confused as to why we had upset the owner, we mentioned that it was no problem at all, no expectations - we could easily get changed somewhere else. At this point anywhere else would have been preferable but eyes were rolled and we were told that lucky for us our rooms were ready so just to go and get changed. We did what we were told and went in to our rooms in a state of bewilderment. My friend and I exchanged looks and hushed giggles as we went in to our separate rooms, changed and got out of there as quickly as possible.
The rest of our time there was spent on best behaviour afraid to step out of line. It's not so much the fact that the owner has her strict rules - she can do what she likes - it's more the way she barks her rules at her guests. We were reminded that this was her home on several occasions and we were made to feel very unwelcome.
This is a real shame as everything else apart from the incredibly rude owner was lovely - great breakfast, lovely room and setting, even the rule following husband.
Please do stay anywhere else if you can in Tetbury - there are plenty of other places just as nice and where you'll be allowed to blow your nose without worrying about the annnoying the owner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FernandaHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERALDOATES, Owner at One Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

As explained under our response to “OK but hosts were rude” we make it clear to guests through our website and in our letter of confirmation that check in time is 3pm, but offer guests an opportunity to request an earlier check in, where we can accommodate this. These guests (“FernandaHenriques”) arrived for a wedding with their friend “TraveleditOr” at 1115am however although this was much earlier than we were expecting we did accommodate the couple despite the room not being ready. We were confused by her and her friends “giggling” manner at arriving so early. There were a number of incidents, which we won’t go into here, which left us with no option but to point out their inappropriate behaviour during their stay. We take a great deal of pride in ensuring guests are welcomed into our home and leave feeling very pleased with their stay as evidenced by our guest book and all the reviews on Trip Adviser aside from those from this party.

Hortense & Gerald Oates
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Have to say following a pleasant train journey up to Kimble and a friendly taxi ride across to Tetbury I was truely looking forward to my one night stay in a cute B and B above a chocolate shop.I was unfortunately met by rude hosts that instead of giving me a friendly greeting I felt like there was an initial inspection. After this, despite the rooms, breakfast and location being lovely, clean and cosy.. I myself felt uneasy and on guard throughout my stay in One Market Place. I would unfortunately not recommend this accomodation to others as the relaxation you should experience from a trip, is wiped out from the constant tension you experience from this B and B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERALDOATES, Owner at One Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

“Sarah p” is the sister of “TraveleditOr”. Sadly her recollection of the reception she received on her arrival on Saturday at around 11am appears to be heavily influenced by the events relating to her sister from the night before. We made Sarah p welcome on arrival advising her that her sister and friends had just left the B&B and were not far away. We checked her in and she then left to join the other 3 members of the party. We are therefore perplexed by her comments.

Hortense & Gerald Oates
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The property is quaint, the breakfast was very good but unfortunately i wouldn't recommend it. This was due to rude hosts. We checked in a little early and received a lecture on the B&B's policies and this was to be the theme throughout the stay. Instead of feeling welcomed we felt like we were putting them out and were constantly reminded that this was their home. Plus points - excellent location and spacious rooms. What needs improving - the hosts attitude towards the guests. I presume they don't need the money and just run the B&B for... actually i'm not sure why they do - they are not 'People's people'. Such a shame - otherwise this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveledit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a lovely B&B right in the centre of the beauiful town of Tetbury and within walking distance of first class restaurants.. Lovely country walks round about. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Beautiful rooms, very tastefully furnished. Delicious traditional breakfast served in beautiful breakfast room overlooking flowered courtyard.. Coffee/tea can be taken on the roof garden which has lovely views. Felt utterly spoilt. The homemade clotted cream scones are devine and definitely recommend trying. The owners make the scones and selection of homemade cakes each morning on the premises to sell in their coffee shop, sweet / ice cream shop, card shop. All very tempting. A lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed the very large double room. The room has views over the owners' award winning courtyard garden and the Market Place. The standard of the furnishings were outstandingly high. The bed was really comfortable and sheets were lovely cool crisp cotton. The adjoining shower room was rather compact but spotless and well equipped with towels, flannels and even fluffy bath robes. The breakfast offered plenty of choice and our portions were very generous. The owners are warm and friendly too. Overall, I'd say this is definitely a cut above the average though light sleepers may need to be aware that there are bells that chime the hours through the night. However, I felt that this just adds to the atmosphere of staying in this lovely old Cotswolds town.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a two day stay at this gem of a place. The room (the smaller of the two on offer) was large and spacious with a delighful bathroom. The room was tastfully decorated and equipped and in first class condition. The breakfast was served in impressive surroundings and consisted of just about anything you could want and as much as you wanted! The owners were charming and helpful without being at all intrusive. I would thoroughly recommend this place and would love to return. The only regret was not making use of the coffee shop and fine chocolate shop that are linked to it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nottinghamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

One Market Place is a lvoely B&B. The owners own a sweet shop and coffee bar downstairs which is very convienant! They have one double room which is beautifully furnished (with handmade fudge left on your pillow) and a twin room to the same standard. The only downside is that it is a shared bathroom so it is better to take both rooms, rather than share the bathroom with strangers. The owners are lovely and the breakfast, served in their own kitchen was amazing. Maket Place is at the centre of Tetbury and is very conveniently placed for all the shops and local attractions. As accomodation in Tetbury is rather overpriced to say the least, this is a lovely comfortable alternative to the hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brummiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMPTetbury, Owner at One Market Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2009

We would like to have it noted that the two rooms with have have their own facilities.A lthough at the time of this guests visit facilities were shared, we never took bookings which caused them to be shared. Even so we have no made changes to the premises and each room now has its own facilities (either ensuite or private)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tetbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
665 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
583 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Market Place

Address: 1 Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tetbury
Price Range: $116 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Market Place provides Visit England 4 star Bed & Breakfast accommodation, situated in the centre of Tetbury, a market town in Gloucestershire. It is a beautiful period town house dating back to the 17th century, with a thoughtful attention to detail and personalised customer service provided by your hosts Hortense & Gerald.We have created a relaxing environment in which our guests can expect the highest standards.Situated in the 'Cotswolds Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty', the Tetbury of today is one of the most beautiful Cotswold towns with its elegant buildings creating a real sense of timeless beauty, — a delight for those who visit this jewel of the Cotswolds. It is a thriving market town built around its outstanding 17th century Market Hall.One Market Place provides you with an ideal base providing convenient access for Westonbirt National Arboretum, set in 600 acres of rolling Cotswold countryside including 17 miles of footpaths to explore, Chavenage House and The Great Tythe Barn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing