We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility at its best”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glen Cottage

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Terrace Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Front of house
Terrace
Garden
Garden
View from terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Living area
Dining table
Bathroom
Our local pub
Local walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue M
Merseyside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquility at its best”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Enjoyed every second at Glen cottage. Our first stay in the Cotswolds and this was a perfect base for exploring the area. Far too much to do for just one weeks stay. Glen cottage had everything we needed for an enjoyable, relaxing stay. Hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, and views
Liked least: Road leading out of lane was uneven. But this is not a fault against the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcou...
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Glen Cottage for a week at the beginning of September and very much enjoyed it. The cottage was comfortable and well-appointed, with a grassy garden area - good views across the valley - nice table, chairs and parasol - an excellent spot for unwinding with a glass of wine at the end of a busy day!
The owner and his family could not have been friendlier - they welcomed us on arrival, then came round the next day with a fresh loaf of bread and jar of jam (both homemade) !
Can recommend the Ram Inn in Bussage - friendly and welcoming with excellent food.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santapod
North Bradley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little cottage , just as described by owner.”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from our stay at this perfect little hideaway. Peace and tranquillity rained and we had 2 well behaved dogs. Everything we could possible wish for , and more was provided , there was nothing which was unattended to the needs of the self caterer. We thought we had found the one thing that wasn't there and then hey presto the kitchen roll appeared in the drawer. ! Every implement you could wish for was here., even a cafitierre for us coffeeholics !!.

On our first evening a wonderful freshly baked loaf was brought round courtesy of the owner, where could you possibly find such an abundance of amenities and hospitality to make our stay so great. The owner Rob was helpful and cheerful ,nothing too much trouble and no expense spared in making this cottage adorable..

A beautiful well maintained garden available with lovely table and chairs.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the heating was toasty warm. All included. It even had 2 wood burning stoves.

The Ram nearby , just a 15 minute walk , provided excellent food at fair prices and a speedy service.

Would thoroughly recommend this little haven and we would love to return sometime.

John and Linda

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Thanks so much John and Linda - we'd be delighted to welcome you back any time. And we'll buy a kitchen towel holder ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edoardo32
Turin, Italy
1 review
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent beautiful days at Glen Cottage! The landscape of Bussage was fantastic. The cottage was well organised and charming. The owners (kind and very nice) prepared good bread for our breakfast. Our proposal was spending few days in the famous English countryside and we did! Bussage is near to Stroud and by bus you can visit all the southern and western Cotswolds (Tetbury, Circenster, Bibury, for example). The nature was great and the public footpaths fantastic for running or walking. Not far from the cottage you can find also a typical pub with good food and beers! So Glen Cottage was an excellent solution for our holidays.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie N
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic location, perfect little cottage”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay at Glen cottage was wonderful, the friendly welcome & clean, beautifully appointed accommodation couldn't have been better. Really helpful instructions & guides to the locality, easy access to owners if needed & all the comforts of home.
Fresh flowers & home-made bread were a lovely touch.
Bussage is so pretty & well worth exploring, with amazing views across the valley & a really friendly local pub only 5 mins walk from the cottage.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & amenities
Liked least: Mattress a bit too soft
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne K
1 review
“Lovely cottage in peaceful surroundings / mooi huisje in rustige omgeving”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week in Glen Cottage with a two and six year old. Lots to see and do for all near by. Particularly liked the local walks, playground and a walk around Minchinhampton. Owners very helpful to suggest outings, walks, pubs, etc. Cottage is lovely with all amenities with toys and DVDs thrown in for rainy days (luckily didn't need them!). Will definitely be back!

We logeerden een week in Glen Cottage. Mooi huisje met alle voorzieningen, zoals wasmachine en afwasmachine en zelfs DVDs voor een regenachtige dag. De eigenaar is erg behulpzaam en weet allerlei leuke wandelingen, pubs en uitjes in de buurt, ook met kinderen. Er is een speeltuin om de hoek en veel te doen in de nabije omgeving. We komen zeker terug.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden/tuin
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect holiday escape”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Booked for 4nights at Glen Cottage as a last minute break with 3 friends. Wanting a break from city life, Glen Cottage was the ideal escape. The tranquil, peaceful surroundings immediately make you relax and feel a million miles from any hustle and bustle. The cottage itself is beautiful. Immaculate in its appearance, extremely clean and very comfortable for 4 people to share. The views from the garden are amazing and what you would expect from a country retreat. We walked as much as we could and stumbled across the quaint country pub (Ram Inn). The locals were very friendly and we immediately felt welcome and comfortable. Providing some local beers and ales we very quickly felt at home. The following day we wandered down into the valley and went to the Stroud Brewery which has a great pop-up pizzeria, local beer and pizza doesn't get much better than that!
Last point to note are the owners of the cottage, Rob and Andrea. They were extremely helpful and made us all feel very welcome in their village. They were also great with ideas of things to do while at Glen Cottage.

A highly recommended country escape

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing