We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disgusting!!!”
Review of The London Hotel

The London Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The London Hotel
Ranked #30 of 33 Stroud B&B and Inns
merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disgusting!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Me and my friends booked in this hotel for 1 night.
As soon as we arrive the place, i have already noticed that the decors and wallpapers need updating.
We were then showed to our rooms. The corridor stinked with cigarette smoke!!!!
As soon as we arrived the room, the drawers had some used plastic drink bottles, candy wrappers and tissues!!!!
In the evening, we decided to move the beds closer to create a large bed for us and the kids, but alas!!!!! more empty doritos packs were found under the bed!!!!
On the other room where my friends stayed, they complained that there were blood stains on the wall.
The room rate were relatively cheap, but that doesent mean things has to be compromised.
Staying in a hotel should be a place where we can rest and sleep, not get paranoid with any possible crawling creatures lurking in the room, or thinking whether the sheets have been washed, or properly washed!!!
I will never go back to that place... cleanliness needs to be sorted seriously!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesgoingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    12
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2010

It is not the best hotel i have ever been to,but for the money one can not complain. It could be cleaner the food could be better. But if your in to ghost hunting then its the place to go. And i promiss you if you take photos in the night you will not believe what you see.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stroud hotels

england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

A bail hostel !!!!!

Don’t know where to begin to explain our experience at the London Hotel, Stroud.

Rooms old, dated, smelly, dirty, filthy, minging, stains on the carpet and round the loo bowl, net curtains grey and creased, mould in the shower and no way would we look under the bed!! The complimentary milk and tea was off and the pillows just didn’t exist!

Was only in the room 5 mins when knock on the door and some bloke asking for writing paper, shortly followed by another one asking if we had a phone cos he had just overdosed!!! We then heard another man, think it was the owner, on the phone to the ambulance, from the conversation it was apparent he knew him well. We can only assume it is being used to accommodate homeless or other such persons which we have nothing against, but why did it have to feel as if we were amongst a group of junkies. It was quite intimidating, would never recommend it to anyone. On the evening we went to a gig in Stroud but felt it safer to lock our belongings in the car!! Was dreading breakfast and we were not disappointed!!! The cup and spoon were both stuck solidly to the saucer, sausages looked as if they had never seen the grill, dread to think how long the cereal had been in the containers and the beans were certainly not Heinz. Normally we would have demanded our money back but we just wanted to get away from the place. It was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. If you stay in Stroud, which is a wonderful market town, don’t stay at the London Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keepcalmEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My partner, 4 friends and I stayed for one night only in the London Hotel and boy what a night!! On arrival after over 4 hours travelling we were told we had to pay before we went to our rooms. Walking up some very steep stairs with our bags was hard work! One room was so bad we couldnt use it, we complained to the guy in reception, he phoned his boss who basically wasnt interested, my 4 friends ended up sharing one room. Our room was awful, the net curtains were ripped, the shower had hair in it, the radiator was rusty and the cold tap ran hot water! The cups used for having tea/coffee in your room were badly stained, the glasses had numurous finger marks on them, the mattress was so bad i had scratch marks on my body from the protruding springs!! The carpet hadnt seen a hoover in months! The noise outside during the night was awful, screeching cars and people shouting and swearing!! THEN came breakfast, i sat and pulled my chair up to the table, my fingers had dirt on the from the ridge under the chair, the cups, saucers, plates and cultery had seen better days!! I dread to think how old the cereal was in the grubby plastic containers!! The guy who was there on our arrival couldnt wait to get us out of the hotel, he served breakfast so fast!! ....What a nightmare!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondieal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I had the misfortune to stay a night in the London Hotel, 30-31 London Road, Stroud, Gloucestershire, GL5 2AJ on Saturday 16th June. Had I researched the hotel at all, by reading online reviews, I would never have gone there so I am now contributing a review myself.
The man running the hotel, who gave his name as Roumi, was rude and unfriendly, and the room we stayed in was really dirty. The bathroom was particularly bad and had no toilet paper. The shower was filthy and there were grubby finger marks all over everything. The beds were really uncomfortable and some of the furniture was falling to pieces. My husband and I were told there was a double room, which we reserved, but when we got there about 2 hours later there was only a twin room. This turned out to be very fortunate for me, as the bed my husband slept in (room 8, the bed by the window) was infested with bed bugs and my husband is covered from head to foot in itchy, swollen lumps. We are really hoping they have not travelled back to our house with us as I know this can happen and they are so hard to get rid of.

The people running this hotel simply do not know the meaning of the words hospitality or customer care. For example, when we were leaving, we called a taxi and asked if we could wait in the hotel lounge. The manager did not reply, just gave us a hostile look, then appeared soon afterwards next to where we were sitting with a can of Tesco’s Value Air Freshener (the cheapest you can buy) and proceeded to spray all around where we were sitting. This dreadful stuff in not meant to be inhaled, but we had not choice. This was so incredibly rude, and the stuff smelled so awful that we rushed outside and waited in the rain for the cab instead. He also sprayed the same Value Air Freshener all through the dining room. The manager did not apologise for spraying us – he just wanted us out, having been paid the money. I can almost guarantee that this place does not get returning guests . If we had not been so desperate to get away, we would have refused to pay the cost of the room ( we had been told to pay in advance but there was a problem with processing the payment, so the payment had to be put through in the morning), but if we had done that we would have spent half the day making statements to the police and it just didn’t seem worth letting this hotel ruin any more of our time in the Cotswolds.
Avoid this place like the plague, unless it has a change of ownership, fumigation, deep cleaning and a total refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

What a place of wonder? On booking in we were asked to pay in advance but the guy on reception did not know how to use the credit card machine. When we returned to the hotel about 10. 30 that night we were asked to pay for the four nights in advance. The stairs are very steep and the carpets look as though they are regularly hoovered, maybe twice a year. We were given room 9. Dust everywhere on every surface. There was an old dirty sock lurking in the filth at the bottom of the wardrobe. We found a condom in one of the drawers, admittedly an unused one but still offensive. There was a supply of tea and coffee but the cups and glasses had not been washed. They had probably just been rinsed under the tap. One of the fold down bedside tables was missing having been wrenched off the wall. The bath was filthy and had not been cleaned for some considerable time. It also had a cigarette burn in the middle. We asked about evening meals but were told the restaurant was only used for breakfasts. So you don’t plan on eating in. The staff seemed to consist of one young English guy in shorts, trainers and tee shirt, and another older Indian gentlemen who seemed to spend most of his time watching Indian programs on the TV in the lounge consequently breakfast was to an accompaniment of Indian music. Probably all very nice if you happen to like that sort of thing. We did complain about the state of the room and lack of cleaning but there was no offer to do anything only the comment “We have been busy” which I don’t believe because there can’t be that many people desperate enough to stay there. The hotel was noisy because it is right on a main road and there is constant traffic accelerating away from the adjacent roundabout. We were also disturbed late into the night by loud people walking past the place after a night out in town. We did have a cooked breakfast the first morning but that experience led us to ask for just cereals and toast for the rest of our stay. The guy playing at cook did not seem to understand the concept of toast because I think he might have waved the bread over the toaster but toasted it was not. The coffee was weak and hot so the staff had managed to work out how to boil water but I suspect they then accepted that as a peak of culinary achievement and stopped there. On balance I think I would rather have stayed in a tent.

  • Liked — Nothing, but it was good to get away from each day
  • Disliked — Everything. A badly run grotty hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

What a dump the London Hotel turned out to be.

It should carry a Government Health Warning. Our room was filthy - greasy dirt on all surfaces, dark stain around the waterline in the lavatory bowl and the litter bin was disgusting. The staff were apathetic and the whole hotel smelled dank. In the evening we were treated to strong curry smells wafting along the corridors. We passed up on the breakfast (included in the room rate) because we couldn't imagine eating anything prepared in this hellhole. If you are ever in Stroud - stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everythin g
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WaldoBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viner House
Viner House
#29 of 33 in Stroud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Amberley Inn
The Amberley Inn
#1 of 2 in Amberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London Hotel

Property: The London Hotel
Address: 30-31 London Road, Stroud GL5 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing