We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cooking smells”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for one night. it just happened to be curry night.. the smell infiltrated every part of the hotel. so much so that we went out immediately , lest our clothes would not recover from the stench! However as there was little other choice in stroud foodwise for a family we came back and ate at the hotel.
The food was fine .
The hotel staff were as good as every other premier inn, as were the rooms.
The lady at reception even gave us a larger room as we had 3 kids.

Great except for cooking smell :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent four nights at this Inn and could find no fault with the room, the staff, the quality of food at attached Brewers Fare.It was a most enjoyable experience,The bed was raised on blocks at our request, ( a disabled room), as my wife had replacement hip & Knee and found bed too low for first night. We understand this has been remarked on by other people booking disabled room. No fuss made about rectifying problem, Top marks

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 677Maurice_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything I expected of a Premier Inn, decent clean rooms, reasonable breakfast (at small extra charge) but overall pretty good for when you want a more budget option and a decent room to get some sleep.
The restaurant seems very popular in the evenings - would recommend booking a table if you know you want to eat there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean and comfortable with friendly staff and also surprisingly quiet despite being part of a large public house with restaurant. Easy to find with car park at the rear and separate access including disabled to the reception area. Large Tesco adjacent but not intrusive. Our stay included a Sunday night for £29 . Booking online was easy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for the first time , very comfortable clean rooms and more importantly very quiet..No banging doors, drunks outside like at some places I/we have stayed.. We had the breakfast - fantastic value for money, we have stayed in some top London hotels, payed far more for breaky and not a patch on this one.. Bacon cooked to perfection and mushrooms to die for..
Thanks to everyone at Stroud

Room Tip: Have the breakfast - you will not need to eat for the rest of the day..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark_church
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel has been very sympathetically built to suit the surrounding area.It has a beatiful stone exterior and a lovely feel of old and new , especially the adjoining pub/restaurant .The staff were extremely friendly and helpful when we arrived,and our room was very clean and spacious with a spotlessly clean bathroom with very good fittings and lovely quality towels.We had an excellent nights sleep after dining at the adjoining pub/restaurant.which had availed us of one of their themed night's delights(ours was a Chinese Special night).The location of the hotel is great, as there is a lovely park right opposite, and the town centre and shops are literally a ten minute walk away.I will be using this hotel again when I next visit this area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although I had planned to stay in a quirky Stroud B&B the ones I contacted were full or didn't respond so I opted for the Premier Inn. I got a non-refundable tariff of £29 (breakfast was extra). Bargain! It's a good option even without a car as it's walking distance from the town centre / train station. Beds are comfortable, the breakfast is very good and the staff were friendly and helpful
The building is quite old and therefore as others have mentioned the windows have not been updated but overall it's just what I expect from a Premier Inn - good value, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChickChack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
209 reviews
3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stroud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stroud Hotel

Address: Stratford Road | Stratford Lodge, Stroud GL5 4AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stroud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II-listed building in the heart of the Cotswolds, with Stroud's Farmers' Market market nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Stroud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Stroud
Stroud Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing