We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Excellent greeting at reception. All staff helpfull and cheery.
Bright and clean bathroom but small and dark bedroom. Bedside lights so dim as to make reading impossible.
Room decor an eclectic mix of decades, starting with 70's.
Dining area stunk of frying food.
Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of foods to choose from. Cooked breakfasts to order.
As we only paid £29 for the room we didn't ask to be moved, but if we had paid more I would have asked to see another room.

Room Tip: There are several extensions to the hotel, so some rooms may be bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

Having stayed at Premier Inn on many many occasions I was very surprised by the quality of the room. The bed was "THE WORST" I have ever tried to sleep in. It was two singles pulled together, so you slept on, what felt like, a metal bar right down the middle of the bed. So sleep, before a very important meeting was virtually impossible.
The mold in the bathroom & round the windows, was not very pleasant, just bearable, but that bed!!!!!! The silicone round the taps & bath, could have been done better by a three year old & the chrome had peeled off the handles.
£62 for a couple of "uncomfy" hours sleep Is not, in my opinion very good value.
On telling reception, I was told "sorry about that". So much for "A Good Night Guaranteed". I bet Lenny never got a bed like that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Had just arrived from Carlisle 5hour trip to find the water was off till 5pm our room 29 was very warm and noisy due to the room being above the exhaust fans for the restuarant these are on from 0630 till 2200 The staff gave us a large fan and shut the secondary windows to shut off the noise thus no ventilation Other than that the staff did all to make it a pleasent stop over

Room Tip: Are there any other rooms as noisier as no29 ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jock01276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at least 9 times every year since 2002.The staff always give you a freindly welcome.The breakfast is always good.I would only have 3 slight criticisims.Sometimes in the summer some of the rooms can be slightly too hot and the tv in some rooms are too small and the reception is not always too good.Also the fact you do not get free wifi big letdownOn the whole though excellant value and freindly welcome

Room Tip: If you can ask for room at back as can be noisy at front in summer because of beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here last year and came back because we enjoyed it. Restaurant on this occasion did not give us good service as we had to wait 45 minutes between 1st and main course, with others who came in after us being served before us. We had been forgotten. However supervisor apologised, offered free dessert, and quality of food was fine.
There was a fan in the room as the weather was hot and sheets were offered instead of the duvet if we required.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Good location with lovely views to the front over park and lake. Beer garden immediately in front of the hotel which caught the evening sun and was lovely to sit out in before dinner.

Restaurant staff were very nice and friendly. Food is a bit uninspiring, but for the price you can't complain! Breakfast was very good which a huge amount of choice. No need for lunch later!

Our room did let the stay down though and not to the normal high standards of our other Premier Inn stays. I'm guessing the "newer" extension may be better, but our bathroom had definitely seen better days and there was a distinct "pub odor" in both our room and the corridor outside, despite leaving the window open. However the room was clean and the beds comfortable. Lots of noise from the garden and road. If you have young children and want a peaceful night's sleep I would recommend sacrificing the view for a quieter room at the rear of the hotel.

All in all, lots of very good points and it's certainly in a very pretty area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishSpacepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I just love staying in the Premier Inn in Stroud, Glos. Situated right next to the beautiful Stratford Park and with its own attractive garden at the front. The building used to be a Boys Prep School years ago and I can remember seeing them [the 'posh' kids in their grey and red uniforms complete with caps... I used to live in Stroud and like to return every now and then to enjoy the wonderful countryside and have a bit of a walk down nostalgic lane! The staff at the Stroud Premier are extremely friendly and welcoming. The bar and restuarant is part of the hotel, so ulike some of the other Premier Inns I have stayed in, you do not have to walk across a car park to get to them. Drink and food prices are very reasonable. I am not a driver but it is only about 5 mins to walk into town, and there is also a bus stop right outside the Inn to Gloucester, Whiteshill, Ruscombe etc. There is also a Tesco right next door [hidden behind trees] which is very useful for sandwiches etc for picnics. My only criticism is that the room prices seem to be slowly creeping upwards - it is in fact very difficult to get a £29 room. As a single traveller this makes it a lot more expensive, although I must admit it is heaven to have one of their huge comfortable beds all to myself!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penzancegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
213 reviews
3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
724 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.5 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stroud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stroud Hotel

Address: Stratford Road | Stratford Lodge, Stroud GL5 4AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: $60 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stroud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II-listed building in the heart of the Cotswolds, with Stroud's Farmers' Market market nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Stroud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Stroud
Stroud Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing