We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Cornwall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Good location with lovely views to the front over park and lake. Beer garden immediately in front of the hotel which caught the evening sun and was lovely to sit out in before dinner.

Restaurant staff were very nice and friendly. Food is a bit uninspiring, but for the price you can't complain! Breakfast was very good which a huge amount of choice. No need for lunch later!

Our room did let the stay down though and not to the normal high standards of our other Premier Inn stays. I'm guessing the "newer" extension may be better, but our bathroom had definitely seen better days and there was a distinct "pub odor" in both our room and the corridor outside, despite leaving the window open. However the room was clean and the beds comfortable. Lots of noise from the garden and road. If you have young children and want a peaceful night's sleep I would recommend sacrificing the view for a quieter room at the rear of the hotel.

All in all, lots of very good points and it's certainly in a very pretty area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishSpacepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    134
    65
    27
    10
See reviews for
114
139
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I just love staying in the Premier Inn in Stroud, Glos. Situated right next to the beautiful Stratford Park and with its own attractive garden at the front. The building used to be a Boys Prep School years ago and I can remember seeing them [the 'posh' kids in their grey and red uniforms complete with caps... I used to live in Stroud and like to return every now and then to enjoy the wonderful countryside and have a bit of a walk down nostalgic lane! The staff at the Stroud Premier are extremely friendly and welcoming. The bar and restuarant is part of the hotel, so ulike some of the other Premier Inns I have stayed in, you do not have to walk across a car park to get to them. Drink and food prices are very reasonable. I am not a driver but it is only about 5 mins to walk into town, and there is also a bus stop right outside the Inn to Gloucester, Whiteshill, Ruscombe etc. There is also a Tesco right next door [hidden behind trees] which is very useful for sandwiches etc for picnics. My only criticism is that the room prices seem to be slowly creeping upwards - it is in fact very difficult to get a £29 room. As a single traveller this makes it a lot more expensive, although I must admit it is heaven to have one of their huge comfortable beds all to myself!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penzancegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Weve stopped here half a dozen times over the last couple of years. The most recent was the second weekend in February. Checkin was fast and the lady was very helpful and explained about the restaurant/food etc. Our room was the normal PI standard clean comfy bed :-) TV kettle plenty of tea coffee milk and sugar. The bathroom was clean bright plenty of towels and soap.

The pub ad restaurant attached serves some good food although we have never been up in time for breakfast! There is a Tesco next door with a cafe too. Plenty of room to park. Weve never had a noisy room yet. Recommended and must be popular as you can never get a £29 room here.

Service in the bar here is always slow whether full or just a couple of customers that is really tha only niggle we have.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Ideal for one or two nights, but absolutely no charm. Room extremely comfortable, but the bar/restaurant area is fer too noisy with no quality of service from staff. Best avoided. Simply use the place as a location to sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thanks for your feedback at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at this Premier Inn for 3 nights. It was our base for exploring the Cotswolds. We visited Bourton on the Water, Chipping Campden, Broadway and Bibury, which were all a reasonably short drive away. Our room was pleasant for the price paid; a little dated, nothing fancy, but certainly spacious and clean. Meals at the Old Nelson were excellent value and of good quality, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. We did have some noise on a Thursday night as patrons left the bar (our room was right above it), but generally it was a great location with a lovely park opposite. Breakfast each morning was very good, with the usual bacon and eggs, and lots of other healthier options like yoghurt, fruit and cereal. On our last morning there, we had to get up very early to drive down to Gatwick for our flight to Venice. The duty manager (Claire?) was just outstanding-she organised an early breakfast for us that was really appreciated, and was so gracious and accommodating in every way. A credit to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel as excellent value and a great location from which to explore this beautiful part of England.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFinale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed here 16th-21st january and what can i say. Room was not cleaned once properly, curtains never opened, bathroom was not cleaned ONCE! Often glasses in room were not collected. However restaurant and bar was fab, service was quik food was always of good standard and thanks exspecially to sally (i think deputy manager) as she clearly goes out here way to ensure good service and was always smiling and freindly. Hope she gets the recognition she deserves as she made the stay at premier inn a place i would stay again. service on reception was also very welcoming at all times day and night. Rob

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0b_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thanks for your review we are very sorry that you were disappointed with the housekeeping of your room, please be assured your comments will be followed up with the Management Team at the Stroud hotel. At Premier Inn it really matters that our guest are comfortable and received the best possible service from all Team Members. Thank you for your feedback we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Recently stayed 1 night in Stroud. Chose the Premier Inn as the deal seemed very good. I was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. The room was big, spacious, clean and comfortable. The adjoining pub/resturant was also good. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBartz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Our team will be delighted to receive your feedback as it is really important to us that our guests are happy with the service they receive. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
236 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stroud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stroud Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Address: Stratford Road | Stratford Lodge, Stroud GL5 4AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stroud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II-listed building in the heart of the Cotswolds, with Stroud's Farmers' Market market nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stroud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Stroud
Stroud Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing