We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We love the Cotswolds”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds
So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Spacious open plan kitchen
Dining area enough for 10 people
Open plan living space
Doors leading out to the patio and garden
Super kingsize bed in the master with an en suite shower room
En suite to the master bedroom
King sized bed in 2nd bedroom
Homely bedroom with 2 singles and children's bunks
Children's bunk beds
Beautiful views down the valley, single bed with pull out single.
Family bathroom upstairs
Downstairs utility and shower room
Children's play room
Breakfast on the terrace
Looking out into the garden
The Old Chapel from the garden with views down the valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mime C
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love the Cotswolds”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the old chapel.
The chapel is wonderfully furnished and in a very good condition.
If the garden would be totally enclosed it would be even better for our dog, but that is just a personal wish.
We really want to come back, the area is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere of the whole house
Liked least: the only thing which was a bit disturbing was the smell of the oil heating!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super stay at the Old Chapel”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a fabulous jewel in the middle of the small hamlet of Slad. Perfect for all our party with an age range of 8 months to 80 years!
Brilliantly equipped with everything we needed for our long weekend. Comfortable seating areas, spacious bedrooms and a gorgeous kitchen! We particularly loved the wood burner which made our winter stay extra cosy. We all appreciated the Damien Hirst work all over the place which caused much conversation over the weekend.
The local pub was spot on. Service and food being impeccable. Good info re local walks was helpful too. Hoping to return for the next large family celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it but the quirky decor made it stand out from the crowd
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damson942
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special place for special events”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We (8 adults and 2 babies) stayed between xmas and new year and the weather was very wet, and this was the perfect place for a large family gathering with babies to meet up. Its warm, spacious and very high spec in terms of decor. The log burner in the lounge, fast wifi and three showers were much appreciated. We hired a caterer to come and cook a meal for us. This worked really well as the kitchen is huge and well provided for.
There are many walks and loads of books and guides which we used. Woolpack is very special for a pint or a meal. The views across Slad valley are wonderful. It really feels as though you are right in the heart of the country, yet Stroud is only a few miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaxJuli...
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“A magical experience!”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were seeking a location to explore the Cotswolds, that could accommodate 5 adults comfortably. The Old Chapel delivered over and above our expectations. The accommodation is very comfortable with great amenities for adults and children. There is plenty of space for groups to join up or do their own thing. The location is beautiful. We particularly enjoyed Slad. Being off the tourist route, it is quiet, rural and offers local attractions. The Woolpack pub will remain a favourite and a must repeat experience. We hope to return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
997quinto...
1 review
“It was a high quality visit!”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a great place and property to spend a week in England. There was ample space for the 7 of us for both sleeping, showering, hanging out, etc. Very easy to access the property and appropriate security. You can cook in or cook out, very nice scenic views, and access to walking trails that take you to neighboring towns. The Woolpack was a fine pub that was just approx. 150 yards away. There was a plumbing issue during our stay but it was handled quickly. There is a slight sewage smell at times that I surmise is due to the environmentally friendly system but we really did not see it as a detriment to our visit. Will try and stay at this property again in the future!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique property in an extremely beautiful valley”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This property is completely unique with all the comforts that you could desire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicRoun...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cotswold Hideaway”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

You know when you turn up at a holiday rental and you are a bit disappointed because it's a bit crappy and doesn't match the pictures? That IS NOT the old chapel. We were blown away when we arrived here. It's a seriously cool place with great space, quality furnishings and a great view. An added plus - we were also able to take Blue, our Hungarian Viszla.

We spent a long weekend here with 4 adults and 5 children and 2 dogs. We had a great time walking, cooking and sitting in the garden around the fire pit whilst the kids bounced away the evening on the trampoline.

If you want a dog friendly place within walking distance of a great pub and where you can walk out the front door to do some long walks with the kids then stay here! I can't recommend it highly enough.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing