We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic venue”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds
So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Spacious open plan kitchen
Dining area enough for 10 people
Open plan living space
Doors leading out to the patio and garden
Super kingsize bed in the master with an en suite shower room
En suite to the master bedroom
King sized bed in 2nd bedroom
Homely bedroom with 2 singles and children's bunks
Children's bunk beds
Beautiful views down the valley, single bed with pull out single.
Family bathroom upstairs
Downstairs utility and shower room
Children's play room
Breakfast on the terrace
Looking out into the garden
The Old Chapel from the garden with views down the valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john_rich...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the Old Chapel for 4 nights at the beginning of October 2014. The one thing that stood out was the quality and care that had been put into the building and facilities. My friends and I had stayed in Slad two years previous, so we knew the area. We found this property on one of our walks during that holiday, and decided on the look of it, this could be for us. I don't believe anyone would be disappointed with their stay. There are many walks from just outside the front gate, and the most welcoming pub, the Woolpack, you will ever wish for. The chef there is very special, I do hope he stays, his food was the best, and not overly expensive. Painswick and Cirencester are a must visit. We will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Holiday Rental”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had the most wonderful stay in this very well presented Chapel in a very picturesque part of the Cotswolds celebrating my husband's 70th birthday! The property was excellently equipped with everything we could ever need including a baby bath! From the bedroom linen to the cutlery etc all was of a very good quality and the property was absolutely spotless. Our party ranged from 11 months to 70, including two dogs, and the Chapel definitely met all our needs. The trampoline being a firm favourite with the children.
We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for somewhere special to stay in this very pretty part of the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property were stunning and the high standard of cleanliness.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephena2...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fabulas venue for my 60th birthday”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

this place is fantastic for getting all the family and friends together. i had my 60 th birthday party here and it could not have been better. started with a barbicue which they provide then sit out on the benches chatting and enjoying the beautiful countryside . top quality rooms and fittings throughout the chapel , and many trips to the woolpack just down the road great beer and good food. order your polypins of beer from uley ales and they will deliver to this pub for you. dogs allowed and you can walk the legs off them here. highly recomended

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itzard
Delft, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best holiday rental by far”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've been to quite a few holiday rentals in the UK over the past 10 or so years and The Old Chapel in Slad simply is the best. Not just in this price-range, but in any. The location is wonderful in the very lovely south part of the Cotswolds. Bristol and Bath are nearby. Rollings hills, bucolic villages like Painwick are reachable on foot.

The house is simply amazing. Roomy, clean, very comfortable, modern where needed, very charming and it has all the amenities you could wish for. The bedrooms are roomy and cosy en the bedding is great. Everything is provided for, extra towels etc. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need. The interior is lovingly designed and furnished. Like living in a magazine home.

Cell phone reception may be a bit of a problem though. The wifi is perfect.

We've been here twice and we will surely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the location
Liked least: would have liked to meet the owners/caretakers
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLDandBD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were a party of seven, travelling with family, four adults and three children. The accommodation was perfect. Plenty of room for everyone with a large open kitchen and living area. The children loved the bonfire pit and surrounding woods where we scavenged for fire wood. The kitchen was well appointed with all the cutlery and cookware for a fully functioning home away from home. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Great way to experience the Cotswolds”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed a week at the Old Chapel with my wife, our young daughter and our recently born baby plus four other relatives and had a great time. My daughter greatly enjoyed the trampoline and the children books available at the house, the rooms were very spacious and comfy, the kitcken is inmense and had everything you need to feel just at home and the living area was great for the whole family to enjoy. Its very well located to visit the lovely towns and cities around the Cotswolds. Would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time at the Cotswolds.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian229
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect setting for a family celebration!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Old Chapel was the perfect place for our two families to spend the week celebrating our mothers 80th birthday. There was ample room for all eight of us (nine with the dog!) and the lovely family kitchen with a huge dining table was great to gather round in the evening. The Chapel was absolutely stunning- inside and out and we were blessed with the weather all week so it gave us an ideal base to tour and explore this beautiful part of the country. We would definitely love to go back one day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing