We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stroud
Post
Inbox
Search

“Nice food ”
Review of The Amberley Inn

The Amberley Inn
Ranked #61 of 198 Restaurants in Stroud
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was nice enough it’s quite expensive the garlic mushrooms was just one mushroom which was a bit disappointing as it wasn’t cheap but the lamb I had was very nice

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank pauloO4033IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 123 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile

LOVED this perfect place! Came here all the way from Alabama-USA for our 25th wedding anniversary. Absolutely lived up to our expectations. Thanks for a wonderful visit.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank paulastevens25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

We booked a premier room expecting it would be special .... it wasnt. It was small, shabby with paint peeling, and water stains down the wall. There were hooks on the wall for your clothes and mismatched furniture. Service was bad in the restaurant for both the evening meal and breakfast. For the price we paid it was poor. The bed was clean and the toiletries were nice. Thats about it. Wouldnt recommend it and wouldnt stay there again.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank LindaEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

Booked here for first nights stay in Cotswolds. Lovely traditional Inn but quite quiet for a Friday evening on bank holiday weekend.

Not the pub’s fault but meant a quiet and subdued atmosphere

Friendly and attentive staff and decent well priced pub menu. Dog friendly too

I had venison pie, mash and peas. Possibly one of the best pies ever. Short buttery pastry, slow cooked venison with pancetta and baby onions served with mash and peas and a fantastic gravy.

Found out (at Stroud farmers market the day after) that pies are sourced locally. Made by Plenty! Pies. Visit and purchase as they are excellent!!!!

Wife’s duck was nice and pink but skin not crispy or completely rendered and lacking a sauce

Overall, decent menu and would eat there again - duck aside

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Gav2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

What a refreshing change to find an eating establishment where everything that can be, is gluten-free! My daughter has been gluten-intolerant for a couple of years now and eating out is problematic. We were here in the Cotswolds for a short holiday and therefore didn't know the places well. However, the website for the Amberley Inn sounded promising and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Our daughter was thrilled to be able to eat breaded whitebait and then tuck into fish and chips, and just be treated as a normal customer!
The waitress was very friendly, the setting was lovely and the decor was nice. My only reservation was that it was a little on the expensive side. Overall, a great experience though.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chocco99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amberley Inn also viewed

 
Stroud, Stroud District
Stroud, Stroud District
 

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing