We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soushi Pop Up - No 23 has a fresh look”

No 23 Bar and Bistro
Ranked #6 of 193 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No 23 is a popular, independent Stroud Bar and Restaurant, open all weekday evenings, all day and evening on weekend and bank holidays. Specialising in over-sized tapas and Mediterranean fare. The fully stocked bar serves a great choice wines, beers, sherry's and aperitifs to complement the extensive menu. The hand-crafted blend of fine gourmet coffees brings you an espresso blend bursting with flavour. The dining experience provided at No 23 has been rated 5/5 stars several times by food critics and is consistently praised on public restaurant sites. The premises is split over 2 levels with a bar and dining area and the open kitchen on the ground floor. Above is a further spacious dining area and to the rear, a raised external balcony offering wonderful views across the roof tops of Stroud and over towards the river Severn. The upstairs dining area is also available for functions and No 23 also hosts Wine Tasting evenings, local musicians and artists in this space. The locally famous £5 for all varieties of Paella Evening is held every Tuesday, traditional Roast are added to the menu on Sundays - best to ring to book or check Sunday evening latest opening hours. There are always delicious Vegan and Vegetarian offerings and everything on the menu is available as take away as required.
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Amazing Soushi Pop up at 23. Super staff and amazing drinks. Great to see 23 back and looking fresh. See you soon!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 714 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening. It was busy but not crowded. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Giving advice on menu and bistro itself. The chill manchego was a delight! Choice was great. I’m veggie and would return again. Only small issue was toilet facilities. Only one and it was scruffy and tired. Let’s the bistro down.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Kirsty-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, food and atmsophere. All round great experience, can't wait to go back again. Would definitely recommend to all!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Johnno11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

I visited with my family for the first time for one of the Tuesday Paella meal deal nights - £5.00 to eat in or take away - and was very impressed with the service we received and the foods quality. The place is a little small but it does have quite a few seating areas and space for bigger groups but we had pre-ordered to take away through the Facebook page (you can though also book over the phone).

The food was cooked fresh when we arrived and was neatly boxed up for us. I had the seafood paella and my dad the full monty, we both agreed the quality of the produce was obvious and the meal was full of flavour, however eaten on it's own it was slightly on the small side. I suspect with other dishes on the side it would of been more than enough.

There was a lot of other menu options, with many being tapas style dishes so the place is probably best for social and shared eating. For the fresh and good quality produce on offer along with the warm and friendly service the prices seem very fair but it isn't the cheapest of places to eat.

Overall I was very impressed.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xbeythx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

We popped in to No23 for a coffee, and had a conversation about what sort of food they served in the evening. The lady at bar was really helpful and we decided to go ahead and book a table for the Paella night. We were really glad we did, great atmosphere, good food. The Paella came in 4options -we had the ‘full monty’ - good number of mussels, prawns, squid and chicken. Nice Affagato as well.
The staff were helpful, and friendly - a good night out.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank addis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 23 Bar and Bistro also viewed

Nailsworth, Stroud
 
Minchinhampton, Stroud
Eastcombe, Stroud
 

Been to No 23 Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing