We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but rooms very variable”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Okay but rooms very variable”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week and changed rooms twice. One room was small and plumbing was "iffy" at best, another had the most slippery bathtub we've ever experienced in 50 years of travel, and the third room was okay if you didn't mind a giant streetlight outside shining through the gap in the curtains. Included breakfasts were okay, but nothing special. All in all, very average accommodations.

Room Tip: Rooms are very variable. Inspect them and don't just take the first one they assign to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    43
    22
    25
See reviews for
35
60
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GB
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff were really lovely - they were very accommodating to us when we checked in quite late and very attentive to visitors in the morning when taking their breakfast orders and making sure they had everything they needed. Also dealt well with a complaint. Room was as it looks on website. Hotel is opposite a station and near to a pub so although convenient in terms of travel, a bit of noise (although to be expected during world cup!). Perhaps not suitable for a light sleeper. Fan provided in room as it does get quite hot. Would have liked 2 towels (there were 2 of us) and soap/gel for the shower, although we didn't point this out at the time and I'm sure the staff would have helped us with this so can't blame the hotel for this. Good sleep, good breakkie (choice of continental or English breakfast) and good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz29Gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We are a balloon team and we needed accommodation whilst competing in a competition in the local area.

Freyer on reception was great and we were shown to our rooms. Firstly they were so hot. With no air conditioning we had to open the windows. This caused a problem because the room over looked the station car park and was next door to the local Wetherspoons. Consequently the noise was unbearable. There was also a large crack in one of the windows.

The room itself was ok, rather dated with pine furniture and a very lumpy bed. It felt like the springs were coming through the mattress.

Food was good and we had no complaints there. The bar closed really early. It seemed the back door was left open for residents. On Sunday morning we walked down stairs to find a chap fast asleep on the sofa in the rear reception. I was not convinced there was a member of staff on duty through the night.

Now for the real gripe. We asked if there was parking at the hotel. We had a vehicle with an expensive aircraft on board. On booking we were told there was a car park and this was not an issue for us to park. On every occasion the car park was blocked with no space or if we did manage to park we were blocked in. We were not the only residents to complain about this situation.

Costing £65 a night I guess its Premier Inn money, but this was not even to that standard. my advice is stay at the Premier Inn at least you know what you are getting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stroud hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

After revisiting this place many times I have to say that I'm definitely a fan! The food has consistently been fresh and tasty. Friendly staff and warm authentic decor is an extra plus. Four of us ate here last week. Everything was fresh and tasty and the service was friendly and attentive. Presentation of each dish is done with great care and its part of what makes this place really special for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanGaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I popped in here for a drink a while ago, before meeting someone at the station. I stood at the bar for at least 10 minutes waiting to be served, people came and went but I was totally ignored by the bar staff.
Although it is a very nice building I won,t be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went Friday evening. Really good service from start to finish. They had the Thai menu and I think the food was outstanding. The restaraunt area opens out into the pub. It was a reasonably busy evening so a good atmosphere. And finally we were able to park right outside!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GlosAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A very central hotel close to the railway station, with many nice restaurants and shops in walking distance. The hotel itself also has a restaurant which serves delicious thai food. I really enjoyed the Pad thai and the green curry.
The hotel is a little old but very charming. The room and the hotel in general were clean and the staff very friendly.
I will come back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
246 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
164 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 23 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. A traditional afternoon tea is served every day from 12:00 until 5:00 pm. Pre-booking and pre-payment is essential. There is a spacious 3 bedroom apartment for hire in the premises. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing