We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service I have ever experienced.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We received a cold welcome to this hotel. The lady on the reception was rude and made me feel very awkward upon arrival. The bedroom was small with stained carpets. Every noise could be heard from outside which resulted in a sleepless night. When checking out the lady was again very rude, with no manners and didn't ask about our stay at all. I have never felt so unwelcome. We couldn't wait to leave.

Overall: - Negatives - extremely poor customer service - noisy room.

Positives - good shower, nice breakfast, good location.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here whilst moving our daughter in nearby, excellent location, the rooms are old fashioned but charming and immaculately clean, and unlike other hotels the window opens so you can have some air in the room. There is free parking and the restaurant is excellent value and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff were very friendly. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bernadette0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed there whilst supporting our son and partner who were cycling from John O'Groats to Lands End. It was directly on their route (in the town centre) and the staff were extremely helpful and supportive. Ensuring bikes were safely stored was important to us and this was no problem. The rooms were of good size, clean and comfortable. The food was excellent - in particular breakfast was served promptly and was well presented - and very tasty! It was a Saturday night so we were a little disturbed by people leaving other venues - and bottles being put into the bottle bank!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avrodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here with our two young children (5 & 2yrs) for one night as a base for visiting friends.

The hotel readily agreed to an early check in for us & when we arrived at 10:30 the room was ready for us.

We stayed in a family room which consisted of two single beds & a double. All of the beds were comfortable & the room & bathroom very clean.

Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice & a fabulous cooked breakfast.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldwellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

well the room was really nice and quite it was the room 106 i believe, nice view looking over head the car park towards station,good space for the money i paid, seems like they have done a good job with the rooms,staff was friendly who offered to carry my bag and showed me the room,which is unlikely now a days.they have change their menus from Thai to English but didn't bother me much since the food was lovely and the restaurant ,bar and the service was well appreciated and finally breakfast was spotless can't ask for more,full English breakfast teas coffees juices fruits...
honestly if i visit stroud again i will stay at the THE IMPERIAL

Room Tip: rooms facing the station are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hish r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is lovely. Inside, things change somewhat. The foyer isn't bad but that's the good bit over with! My room was overly hot, There were ants in the bathroom, and there was a suspicious wet pillow case in my bathroom. Oh, and the tv didn't work. The view from my window was completely taken up by some sort of industrial ventilation shaft which hummed all night.
The morning of my departure a couple were complaining to the management that someone had climbed up the fire escape, through their window and stood by their bed! The management's response.... they'd check the cctv! No apology and they didn't even ask if the couple were OK!
This hotel needs to go back to basics starting with customer service and ensuring cleanliness. Not worth £70 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as only place i found that had rooms available for concert at westonbirt, booked 8 months in advance.
Vey old building and looks old inside too website for hotel is nothing like it in reality. Dont be fooled by website pics for the rooms.
On arrival i was quite impressed with our room had a four poster bed, used the loo and it wouldnt flush, told reception and was instantly given a new room, so going from a four poster to twins in a matter of 20 mins not a happy bunny.
Room overlooking the car park and train station, not many trains but a little noisy with cars parking up. The hotel and rooms are like saunas so be aware of this when visiting in
summer. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
731 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
9.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: $97 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 23 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. A traditional afternoon tea is served every day from 12:00 until 5:00 pm. Pre-booking and pre-payment is essential. There is a spacious 3 bedroom apartment for hire in the premises. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing