We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage for a couple”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Half-pint Cottage

Christmas at 'Half-pint'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Christmas at 'Half-pint'
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area Looking up the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Christmas at 'Half-pint'
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area
Looking up the garden
Cottage garden  and patio area
Private cottage garden and  woodstore
Extensive  views from the dormer window
Unlimited logs for the wood burning stove
Pure cotton bedlinen and soft towles
A corner of the lounge
Garden and summer house at twilight
The Post Office and stores at nearby Woodcheter
Selsley Church, with views over the Severn estuary and Wales
Selsley  view
Colourful Stroud with its Saturday farmers' market
Great walking country: on the Cotswold Way
The Bell at Selsley, warm welcome and great food.
Our very local 'local'
Dining corner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jnifferpo...
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a couple”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I wanted to find somewhere in the Cotswolds for my husbands birthday weekend and as we don't have a car location near a station was essential and this was perfect. The cottage has everything you would need and has been decorated to a high standard, with all the mod cons but retaining beautiful period features and the log fire was great. The living room and bedroom have lovely furnishings and the bed is super comfy with beautiful views out of the window. We only stayed two nights but packed a lot in, a visit to the bell inn is a must-the food was brilliant and they recommended a walk around the common down to penn wood which has the most amazing views. Can't recommend highly enough. We plan to go back in the summer. A great place for a couple to stay, we didn't mind the stairs as other people have commented they are a bit narrow but I think this adds to its character which I liked.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2015
I am so pleased that the cottage was right for your birthday weekend, and hope to welcome you again to "Half-pint".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieLiz...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Half Pint Cottage in December 2014 to celebrate our honeymoon. The cottage is just perfect, it is exactly as described but the owners go above and beyond to make your stay as homely and as welcoming as possible.
Fresh milk in the fridge upon arrival, seasonal flowers and a bottle of bubbly was so appreciated.
The cottage is so thoughtfully laid out and decorated. We loved sitting by the fire in the evenings and the kitchen is so well equipped for cooking and eating in.
As it was winter we didn't use the outside space but it looks great for the summer months.
We had no trouble parking our car and you can stop briefly outside the cottage for loading/unloading. The village is great with a very friendly pub on your doorstep and so many country walks.
All in all a wonderful cottage and we cannot wait to return one day!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2015
I am delighted that you found our little cottage just right for your honeymoon, and wish you both well for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilCat250...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well-equipped cottage in good location”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June, with our pooch. The cottage is well-equipped and packs a lot into a small space. Although the kitchen is small it has everything you need and is full of appliances. We really appreciated the milk and chocolates on arrival, but it was also so useful to have things like salt and vinegar etc.

The living room and bedroom are bright and spacious. The garden is enclosed, but you do have to cross a shared path to get it it. This was a bit of a problem with our dog, as we had to put her on a lead each time because she found the neighbours' gardens irresistible - cats! Once in though she was fully secure. We ate at the Bell, and the food was great. We never had a problem getting a parking space, but if you're not very confident at reverse parking you could find it a bit of a challenge.

The stairs are quite steep and spiral inside the cottage, so you have to be a bit careful.

There are some lovely walks along the Severn Way, Cotswold Way and Stroud Canal, and it's great to have a Sainsbury's withing walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hillside parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. It's good to know you liked our little cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason e
warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“christmas 2013: Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Just spent a week over christmas, beautiful cottage and really festive,.when we arrived there was a bottle of wine & xmas cake left for us also a xmas tree and crackers, really thoughtful. Unloading the car was a nightmare as we had to park near the pub up the road as the road outside is very narrow & busy. We really loved the area, particularly selsey common with its amazing views, plus the dog loved it! Stroud really nice town and the "bell inn" was a cosy little pub with nice food. Inside the cottage it seemed that previous guests had left things behind cluttering up cupboards and the freezer and fridge etc, also a lot of ornaments about gathering dust and cobwebs, other than this Half pint cottage is a lovely place to stay and we'd definately recommend a stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, dog walking options, cosiness.
Liked least: steep stairs with no carpet, parking not always easy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your Christmas stay. Our guests usually appreciate the few condiments etc. that we leave in the food cupboard, as well as the basic essentials left for their convenience. I'm a bit puzzled about ornaments gathering dust, as previous guests have always thanked us for our clean,tidy and cosy cottage.
Our pub has recently re-opened after extensive renovations, so I am delighted that you appreciated it. Unfortunately it has meant that parking was more difficult over the holiday period, though it is possible to stop alongside the cottages for unloading.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2013
I'm delighted you had a pleasant stay, and look forward to welcoming you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loulabell...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect hideaway for a couple of days”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We've just arrived home after 2 nights at half pint cottage. It's a lovely little cottage in an attractive setting, the only downsides for us was the lack of parking - you have to walk down a steep road from the Bell pub - and the fact that the Bell itself was closed for refurbishment! Looks like the builders are doing a great job though so will be a fab evening destination for future guests of half pint cottage. The cottage itself is cosy and very well equipped but with two flights of steep, spiral stairs this isn't somewhere for anyone who's not too good on their pins. We visited All Saints Church in Selsley which has windows by William Morris - really beautiful and well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable and well appointed living room on first floor
Liked least: lack of parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your weekend, and yes the pub is going to be even better than before.I can't wait until it's finished.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cozy kitchen with the log burner,
Liked least: the garden, and white furniture (becasue of the dogs)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Hi,
I'm glad you enjoyed our cosy cottage.Well behaved dogs are definitely welcome, even hairy ones. However, our cleaner does a stirling job to make sure the cottage is left in a perfect condition for our next guests, so although we don't charge for dogs, we reserve the right to pay her for extra cleaning when necessary.Fortunately this rarely happens.
I think you would love our now fully landscaped garden, although we still expect guests to supervise their dogs, so as not to spoil the flowers and shrubs for others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing