We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good food & friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgemoor Inn

The Edgemoor Inn
Ranked #30 of 138 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester
Level Contributor
227 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Still good food & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited last October and although we enjoyed the food we felt the place lacked atmosphere, however, we said we would try again in summer 2013 and we just have.

Phoned in advance and were told that there was no need to book, so we arrived and surely enough were offered a choice of tables in the bar area or in the restaurant. Having choosen a table in the bar with a view over the valley drinks were ordered at the bar. A pint of Bob for me which went down very well, I'd of had another only I opted to drive.

We ordered appetisers of Garlic Bread with Ham & Cheese, excellent.
Mackerel Pate & Whitebait as starters, Pate excellent whitebate was a little spicey being toppped with cayenne pepper but still good.

Mains all excellent and off the specials menu, pie, chicken and lamb cutletts. Slight critisism in that a few more veg could be served with the mains.

No puds this time.

Overall a very good meal and we felt the noise level inside the building was much more acceptable than our last visit when there was a large party in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    85
    48
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“good food, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Four of us booked in for evening meal last week, there was a small function going on for about 20 but this did not impact in any way on the service and food provided for us.
Service was friendly and food well cooked and presented, although a wet and miserable day the views across to Painswick are impressive with some outside tables which I am sure are in demand with decent weather.
Table by window provides great view although you can get benefit of this throughout the restaurant area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cotswoldgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We visited twice in 10days that says it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The wife and i took advantage of the wednesday steak night offer - and we were extremely impressed - the views were matched by the food - superb and really good value. We enjoy good food and one of the sweets - orange and almond syrup cake was out of this world!

Returned a week later with the in laws in tow - anither good value meal - even the normally hard to plee granddad was impressed wth his fish and chips - praise indeed! Only slight disapointment was that the worls class orange and almond syrup cake had disappeared from the menu! Hence four stars not five.

Needless to say we will be returning shortly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un welcoming - lost custom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'd been here before at Christmas and had an excellent meal with great service so was keen to go back for a drink and check out the menu with the intention of returning after pay day for a meal. Unfortunately we weren't made to feel very welcome and I was chastised for paying by card in a rude and unnecessary way by the Landlord which was not only rather odd but totally put us off wanting to return. There were no signs up stating a minimum payment, that cash was preferred or that customers should be psychic. We won't be recommending this place to any of the friends that we had planned to return to this location with, far from it. Shame!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VeggieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“View good Food poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent location, good views in summer. However food very overrated. Basic menu, nothing special about the meat. Food averaqely cooked at best (at least the steak was). Witnessed a family complain while we were eating, and don't blame them. Staff reasonably friendly. Would not return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edgemoor Inn also viewed

 
Stroud, Cotswolds
Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Edgemoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing