We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two stays in two months”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at the Bear initially for a friend's wedding. I had a wonderful room, lovely views, amazing bed and great service. Post wedding though I had some noisy guests above me, and an early morning hoover which wasn't entirely welcome! However after mentioning the issues in my feedback, I was offered a complimentary night to make up for the disturbances I'd had. I'm really grateful to the wonderful staff at the Bear for their consideration and generosity. Breakfast there is amazing, service in all areas wonderful, and I'd have no concerns recommending them for a wonderful weekend stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelye_Arcite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 831 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were a party of 14 friends from Ashby who every New Year get together for a 2 night stay in a different hotel every year. This we have done for approximately 20 years now so have experienced many hotels. Everyone of us said "this has been the best hotel ". The only thing that let us down was the weather so unable to enjoy the views or walks, perhaps another time.
All the staff so friendly and helpful, a characterful place with open fires, enjoyable food with excellent service, attractive bedroom decor with views we had to imagine due to rain.
We had a FANTASTIC time, thank you to all at The Bear of Rodborough.

Room Tip: The annex for quiet rooms but dogs are allowed but whilst there no trouble with barking etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our then 8 1/2month old baby. The staff were very helpful to our needs and made our stay very enjoyable.

We were very well looked after, they couldn't do enough for us at breakfast. Breakfast was wonderful, lots to choose from for us and our baby.

The room was well equipped and was a lovely comfortable station for visiting our family members.

The hotels was lovely and warm and very clean.

The only downfall was the light in the stairwell did not work but we will most definitely be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed twice, for a couple of nights each time, in the autumn and found the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful on both occasions. It is worth visitong for this reason alone.

The room was comfortable and quiet with sensible lighting and a good array of sockets for lapptops etc.

Food was good, though we prefered the evening meal in the bar to that in the restaurant.

The location for anyone wanting to be close to Stroud is just right, and there are lots of pleasant walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

this hotel is on the common ground above stroud but there isn't anything common about it. Superb hotel, lovely staff, lovely grounds. plenty of walking over commons. lots of cattle roaming about so be careful walking and driving. views around area are stunning. we stayed on all inclusive package and was very good vfm, to include full high tea for two days, breakfast and dinner. food was excellent. good al a carte menu also. dog lovers note,you can take them with you. not a cheap hotel by any means but it has real character. it has its own croquet court.half bottle of champers on arrival, tea and coffee in room.great weekend

Room Tip: take sensible footwear for walks on the common
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allansussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Bear was chosen by our son and his fiancée for their wedding ceremony and reception. The location is excellent and the hotel facilities good with plenty of public room options and outside areas (in good weather) for the guests to enjoy. On the day everything went well, mainly due to the energy of "Dave" who seemed to generally take charge. On the downside, on the weeks/days prior to "the day" e-mails went unanswered and phone calls not returned when details needed to be discussed with the lady wedding co-ordinator who seemed to have other responsibilities. Food chosen for the reception by the bride and groom was well presented and of good quality and generous portions - as were the following day's breakfasts. The hotel's evening DJ did a good job but nobody seemed to hear any of the music requests they made actually being played - a small point in the overall scheme of things. The choice of various room styles is good, all reports from guests were that they were all clean and comfortable. The only adverse comment was from a number of people who said the hessian style carpeting in the executive rooms was dreadful and coarse on bare feet, not very "executive". In summary, the hotel provided a great event but more attention to keeping in touch with the couple prior to the day is required to avoid unnecessary stress.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thetechpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just stayed here for the weekend as we had a friends wedding at the venue.
Cost around £160 for the weekend which includes breakfast (cooked and buffet)... FYI the cab ride just under £10 pound out of Stroud.

Would highly recommend it if you're staying in the area, was a very relaxed pub and plenty of walking areas nearby. Service was great and place is charming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nextbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
424 reviews
12.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: $124 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing