We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the bear and it was nice to be greeted by name on arrival. We stayed in rm 40 in the country house and this was excellent, with a very nice view across the common and the valley. Breakfast was as good as ever, with a wide choice and very good service. Trying to eat on a Saturday evening was difficult, the restaurant was already fully booked when we arrived at 3pm and the bar was too overcrowded to eat there, would definitely recommend booking in advance of arrival or going to the bar early if staying on a Saturday, other evenings were fine.

Room Tip: Country house rooms are quiet and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darleen548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back from a nice weekend break from the bear. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them the room we stayed in was number 41. Which was very nice and clean and a great view.the only thing we found that let it down was the doors when people came in the rooms no anti slam device on the doors which woke us up all the time so we didn't sleep to well but everything else was first class the young girl vickey doing the breakfasts was a credit to your team as she helped us we will go back to the bear but will take some ear plugs but all in all well done geoff moore

Room Tip: 41 good room and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely bedroo and bathroom. Very welcoming especially as arrived later than planned and found it was steak night and very very delicious it was. Staff were very friendly and breakfast lovely as were all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilar009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Enjoying our second night at this hotel, the room and decor of the hotel is super, william morris and the arts and crafts movement inspired. Had a brilliant first nights sleep and a superbly cooked breakfast with lots of choice, hope to be back in the future. Scenery from our window is peaceful and beautiful

Room Tip: Good choice of rooms shown on line, gives size of room too. We stayed in the country house which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Being in the area this hotel looked like a good lunch venue and we were not disappointed. We were served heavenly freshly made food in their beautiful garden. The building itself is perfect for lunching on more inclement days. Will definitely list as a favourite find. Quality always comes first.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank annie_mcl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here many years ago and had the chance to do so again this week for one night . My wife and I found our room spacious and comfortable. Our dinner was first rate both in terms of food quality and service and breakfast too was excellent. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulG1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely character hotel, the first night we ate in the Bistro Bar, the food was very good, on the second night we ate in the restaurant, also very good. The bar area was buzzy but not overcrowded, and you can relax in the cosy lounge area if you wish. The staff in this hotel are very attentive and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The hotel is situated on Rodborough Common,and you can easily walk to Stroud via the foot paths that cross the common, the views are beautiful. I will definately stay at the Bear again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
260 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
207 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: $124 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing