We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noreen 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Noreen 2013”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

2 Nights stay 13 and 14 of february we really enjoyed our stay lovely room ,well equipped, Our breakfast was Lovely both morning, we had a three course dinner in the restaurant the first night which was fab.It was our first visit to the Costwolds beautiful area would book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    308
    109
    38
    20
See reviews for
100
470
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have returned from a two night break at this lovely cotswold hotel.The bedroom was nicely decorated and clean with a great view from the window.The standard of food was excellant with a great choose of hot and cold food at breakfast.The cooked breakfasts were plentiful !!! I would most certainly stay here again. The staff were very helpful and polite

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard460green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent an excellent few days midweek break at this hotel. We could not fault the comfort, service or food, and we particularly enjoyed a delicious dinner. Only slight niggle was creaky floorboards from room above. Highly recommended for touring in this part of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerksMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in February and really enjoyed our stayed. We were given one of the rooms in the newer part of the building (room 40) which was lovely and cosy, well equipped, great view and with a lovely bathroom. We ate in the bar one night and enjoyed a three course dinner in the restaurant another night and enjoyed both meals. Our breakfast was lovely every morning and the staff were very friendly through-out our trip. We enjoyed a wine tasting in the wine cellar located on the hotel premises which was very nice. It was our first visit to the Costwolds and we hope to go back and enjoy the area, and hotel, in the summer. I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loopylisalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Bear for 17/02 till 19/02, booking in for a late Valentines and anniversary weekend away. The drive up to the Bear was beautiful, one of the most attractive areas of the UK I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Situated on-top of a hill plateau with wildlife and stunning views all around, the hotel really is sitting in a prime location which gives you a feeling of what the Cotswold's has to offer.

The hotel itself is fantastic, stunning inside, with section of old rooms mixed with old windows and plenty of seating. The common room the hotel offers that connects to the bar via an old wall is ideal and makes you feel very welcome when sitting in there. My partner and I spent every evening after being out for the entire day winding down with a drink. There are open fires with extremely comfy chairs close-by so you can easily relax.

The rooms are well furnished, the complementary mineral water and tea-making amenities are a great touch and again makes you feel truly welcome. The bed was very comfy, and the view from the room opened up over an old low-wall (Roman?) and gave a clear view of the hills and valley. In the morning this was particularly breathe-taking with rolling mist flowing through the valley and up the hill.

The staff were attentive in every sense and welcoming, friendly in every-way, I simply cannot fault the service we received. Food wise we had the breakfast twice, which was delicious and again provided in a beautiful room and beautiful view; and dinner which was cooked to perfection.

All in all, we will be going back, which will be a first to any hotel we have visited. I will happily recommend this to my friends and family, and truly regretted having to leave.

Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Having read the previous reviews, I was a bit worried about booking the Valentines break. After a lovely morning shopping in Cheltenham we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist and booked our valentines evening meal. We were given room 7,very small but nicely done overlooking the common, but on the main road, so quite noisy. 1/2 bottle of champers and chocolates part of the package all polished off quickly. We had a quick drink in the bar with roaring open fire before our meal. We went to the main restaurant only to be shown to The Tower room, for a short time we were on our own in there, after 5-10 minutes 3 other couples were shown to tables in this room ( we're we al valentines package guests?!!!). The meal however was superb and it was a romantic ambience. Retired to bed and the road had quietened down so felt able to open the window, very comfy bed. We were woken at 1:30 am by load talking and laughing from the bar directly below us (staff or guests?). Went to restaurant or breakfast, "morning, please sit anywhere" chose a table " no sorry you cannot sit there it's reserved" no-one sat there while we were in there. However breakfast was very nice, staff a bit surly and not very chatty. Despite little moans would definitely return.....love to see it in the summer

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed at the Bear from the 15th to the 18th Feb for a family birthday gathering.From the start we were impressed with the room and the huge bed, plenty of tea and coffee making stuff and very clean and comfortable, the staff were lovely and the head waiter Arsen looked after us wonderfully well. the choice for breakfast was really good and the dinner menu had a good choice. a minor criticism would be that there could have been a selection of veg and even though the food was excellent the helpings were a little bit small.. the drinks prices were surprisingly reasonable. I would definitely stay at the Bear again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
246 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing