We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We lucked out with”

Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We lucked out with”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We lucked out with this one - just drove past it in Stroud and liked to look of the place on a Friday night. We weren't disappointed, we thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The staff where very friendly, helpful and efficient. It helped that we were eating late as we weren't hassled to leave from our table and let others eat - they don't like to disappoint their customers so need a few sittings.

There was a huge mix of families, couples and friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    169
    43
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Buzzy and busy”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Noisy, fun atmosphere on a Saturday evening and very welcoming. There's a big menu with lots of specials on the board. Some of the food was delicious - the steak and the veal Milanese especially, and some more average, but there was lots of it. The seafood pasta was over sauced and the chocolate ice cream disappointing. But there wasn't a lot open in Stroud and this was a popular place, best to book.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandlLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Place !”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Visited Sorrento's many times, great welcome, atmosphere, wine and food ! Don't usually have room for desert, but always manage to share a Tiramisu - yum yum! Since my mum, 'Nonna Rose', was introduced, she has to visit whenever she's down from Yorkshire !!! Next visit already booked !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleAnnGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Me and my 4 friends came here a week ago for a meal for one of my friends birthdays I was so disappointed number one- we are under 18 so we were not buying alcohol which meant the waiters thought it would be ok to kick us out at 820 when our table was booked for 7 which meant we only had 1 hour or so together, number 2 the food was awful my pizza was cold! Number 2 there were extremely pushy towards us making us rider when we planned to eat at around 8,have pudding at 9 and leave for about 10-1030 but instead there were very pushy and it was embarrassing I'm so disappointed and I will defiantly will NOT be going here again. Poor poor effort!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shann12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good night out”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Sorrento never disappoints. Have been there many times and the standard of food service and atmosphere is entirely consistent. We had a fine pizza and delicious seafood linguine ( good portion) green salad and Whitebait for starters , very crisp!
Okay one thing could make the meal even better : a good salad dressing .
We love the jolly atmosphere , the generous service , the affordable prices and that's why we will definitely come again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Stonehouse, Stroud
Stonehouse, Stroud
 
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to Sorrento Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing