We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept ale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart Stow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited on a very hottest of days .... and enjoyed a well kept ale by the Arkell's Brewery. The place has a lot of character and atmosphere ... the staff were very friendly. We sat outside initially and then it became too hot so we went indoors. The building has very thick walls that was keeping the inside cool and, I would imagine, they would keep the place warm in winter. Certainly happy to visit again, if we ever return to Stow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Stow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed one night, bed and breakfast, as we were elsewhere for dinner. Comfortable room, good shower, very good breakfast! Friendly and helpful staff. Old biuldings like this are very difficult to maintain, and I'm glad it's not my responsibility!
Excellent location on the square, although parking might be challenging.

Room Tip: Old pubs/hotels like this have small rooms, and stairs. If you adaptable, fine. It is not a modern h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at the White Hart for two nights on 28th & 29th June. Stow is a beautiful village with stunning countryside, but if I was returning, I would not recommend this hotel. When we arrived we were kept waiting, but the staff member was friendly enough. The hotel itself is very old so you expect a few creaky floorboards, but we felt the decor was quite tired and a there was a dangerous loose carpet in the hallway. Also, to get into the en suite there were two steep steps, which may be an issue for a less able person. The room was quite dirty in places although Berliner and towels were fine. We had breakfast the first morning, which was very poor quality and both our eggs were under-cooked. We did not eat here in the evening as we thought if they couldn't cook an egg, what would a main meal be like! The manager was present a few times while we were in the bar, but he did not make us feel welcome. On the second night, well after midnight as we were trying to sleep, the manager returned from a night out with a group of his friends who continued their party downstairs making a huge noise. It was so loud that it sounded as though they were right outside our door. In the end my partner banged on the floor and the noise stopped, but I really felt this was unprofessional. We left early the next day as we didn't mind missing breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my husbands birthday for one night only. We opted for the best room, the stag suite costing £125 for the night but including breakfast and boasting a king size bed and roll top bath big enough for two to share. We had very much been looking forward to our mini getaway and so decided to push the boat out!!! The room was lovely and spacious and did house said bath - although not really big enough for two average sized people! The fact that there was no tap end does not mean its big enough for two!!

In terms of cleanliness, it was, it was a lovely layout with loads of character, the selection of drinks good and the food was really lovely, worth the price indeed. All in all, great location, great venue, great food and reasonable price.

Sadly I would never stay here again as we felt most unwelcome!! The customers service really lets this down massively. If you like to be made to feel that your not welcome then stay here, I couldn't wait to leave. I didn't even want to ask if we could leave our car in the car park they have round the back as I didn't want to put them out too much. Don't ask for extra butter with your breakfast, I got a huge sigh for that request, and when you say to the guy running the bar at nighttime, when do you close the bar, instead of "when the residents have retired", what he actually means is when he's had enough and wants to go home, which was aprox 12.30pm. Also when you want another drink, you have to go and find him down the back in the restaurant somewhere, and again you are greeted with a huge sigh for daring to ask for a top up. I felt judged and unwelcome. If the customer service was improved, this would be a knockout venue, I'd rather stay in a shed and have top notch service then the white hart and be made to feel like an inconvenience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first experience of a "veteran" English pub so we were engaged by the quirkyness and patina of a "well established" hotel. Rooms are fresh, clean and neat; bathrooms functional and effective with good toiletries; good bar, breakfast, and dining (very pleasant and good quality dinner). The team are good, friendly, efficient and the chef strong. We enjoyed our couple of days in The White Hart and touring the Cotswold. Thank you Mark and team - you have set our benchmark for cute English country pubs.

Room Tip: timber structure and stairs so a room away from the stairs may be quieter if you retire early but if...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCarroll18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just stayed for one night after the opera in Longborough, but were very satisfied. Stow-on-the-Wold is a heritage town, and the White Hart is centuries old - so yes, the boards will creak, the rooms could be small, and there may be a gap under the door. If these things worry you, stay in the Holiday Inn. We found the staff welcoming, and while the room (Fallow) was small, it had everything you would need, the bedding was excellent, and the en suite was ingeniously and efficiently designed. We did not take the evening meal there, but the breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere - my wife is still talking about her smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had no problems with Fallow, which overlooks the square, though it is small; other travellers spe...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal_C542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having read the mainly positive reviews we expected a great stay but whilst it was okay, we left feeling a bit disappointed.

So, the positives - It is centrally located in Stow right on the square. it is very clean and the staff friendly.

The negatives - Our room "Buck" was tiny. Just enough room to get into bed but no room for a chair of any sort and only one very small wardrobe. It was also very dark with the window facing out onto a roof!!
It is very noisy. We could hear everything from the room next door and creaking floors from the room upstairs and corridor - we accept the hotel is old and creaking floors are to be expected but this was particularly bad.
The breakfast was very poor - Mean quantities and poor choice. We had scrambled eggs which had clearly been sitting around for ages as they were so rubbery and overcooked as to be almost inedible. We chose not to eat there in the evenings.
It is getting tatty in parts - The carpet on the landing is so frayed as to be a real trip hazard.

Would we stay here again? Maybe, but we would only do so in one of the larger rooms and we would have breakfast in one of the many excellent cafes in Stow.

Room Tip: Avoid Buck - it's tiny and dark.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Stow

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $121 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Stow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are intending to stay overnight, there are five rooms to choose from, ranging from the stunning “Stag”, with a free standing bath in the bedroom, to the snug “Fallow”. All rooms have been recently re-furbished, blending ancient stone and woodwork, with contemporary style and sophistication.Some come back hoping to meet The White Hart Hotel’s non-paying guest, a friendly ghost whom the locals have nicknamed ‘George’. He sometimes manifests as a vertical white light after closing time in the bar, but only rarely appears as a figure – and then apparently for a reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The White Hart Stow Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing