We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty room, great breakfast, pub meal ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Stow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Hart Stow
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty room, great breakfast, pub meal ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed midweek on a Thursday in a £60 room. On arrival the village was appealing with lots of quaint shops/tea rooms/pubs. For the room, we couldn't have asked for more. It was charming and the decor was pretty with a modern bathroom - it all looked very clean with attention to detail (I also loved the slightly sloping floor, very authentic!). Bed very comfortable. There was cafetiere coffee and home made shortbread on arrival which was a nice touch!

We had a meal in the pub that evening, and the food wasn't bad, wasn't amazing - for the price I would have expected slightly more but it was good overall.

The breakfast was delicious with cereal or fruit to start and a cooked menu to choose from as well. Nice home made bread for the toast too.

Overall, I would recommend this pub as a place to stay for a night or two. I can't comment on food in other places in the area as we only stayed for one night but it might be worth trying elsewhere for comparison (price & quality) if you have time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    27
    18
    11
See reviews for
18
138
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Although we have visited Stow many times, we were with friends who suggested The White Hart Inn for lunch, as most places were very busy. We were the only people in the White Hart and, on a day when the town was extremely busy, that should have told us something.
Firstly, the carpets were so worn, with holes on steps, that had a woman caught her heel she would have experienced a very nasty fall. The carpets around the Bar area were dirty and stained. The whole atmosphere was not welcoming and we almost walked out. The food, not cheap, was very poor. (£13.95 for fish and chips.) We found it so poor that we didn't stay for coffee, visiting a small place the other side of the square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I decided to eat in the White Hart and came away feeling very jaded with the place. I live in the Cotswolds and there are many other places where the food is a lot cheaper and of a similar or better quality. The food I had was fairly expensive.
After I took a seat in the restaurant I quickly began to feel that I was invisible as I was ignored for quite some time and the restaurant wasn't particularly busy. I certainly wouldn't want to have been hungry as the portions were small. I asked about the accompaniments to my main course and was informed that they were mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. I asked to have chips instead of potatoes and was charged an extra £3.50 for a small portion. The vegetables never appeared.
I saw the waitress cutting bread and then wiping her hands on her clothes. She also kept running her hands through her hair.
When I left the restaurant I noticed that there were holes worn in the carpet on two stairs leading to the bar area. This is a health and safety issue that needs addressing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxydent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel perfectly located, plenty of parking to the rear of the place. The rooms small and basic, windows understandibly drafty hence the overheating of the rooms when it was cold.
No drawer space at all, just a small wardrobe with a few hangers.
Bathroom very modern however, no hot water for the 3 nights that we were there. We complained after the first night to be told it would be fixed, when we returned later that day we were told it was sorted, so we went for our shower, and low and behold it was still cold! We complained again the next day and were told we would be moved so left our key. When we returned we were told it was definately fixed and was told that the water had been switched off by a member of staff in error. So off again for our much needed hot shower, only to find still cold. We went back down stairs and were told that the water had probably all been used up, so we went off out for dinner to a local pub. The next morning still no hot water so we complained again to the manager who said he would definately look into it. Again not fixed but we were offered another hotel at 8pm but we just could not be bothered to pack up and move as it was pouring with rain.
The breakfasts were wonderful, a fabulous selection which set us up for the day.
When we checked out we were disappointed that we had only had a gesture reduction on our bill.
We will not return, but had the shower been hot we would gladly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Nice place full of character, sloping floors, wobbly walls,(Muntjack) pleasant welcome, lovely breakfast of local fayre, (If a little late at 9-10am !)
Cannot vouch for dinner as other pubs in town a bit cheaper, (Not to say if as good though)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianmauricebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

GF and I spent three mid-week nights at the White Hart - booked through LateRooms.com, B&B £75/night - in April 2012 and would happily stay here again. This is a classic English inn, with authentic creaky floorboards and precariously low doorframes. The rooms have been tastefully decorated blending the quaint and the contemporary. Although small, rooms are comfortable and the en-suite bathroom had a shower "big enough for a party". Breakfast and dinner continued the quaint/contemporary theme and both were great.

This part of the Cotswolds is quintessential Old England and, as a place Dick Turpin would happily crash for a night, the White Hart epitomises the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthillClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My parents and I stayed at this pub with rooms over the recent April bank holiday.

The location is excellent, smack bang in the middle of Stow with allocated parking behind the property off Mill Lane. One of the managers, maybe owner, was very funny and engaging.

Our stay got off to a shaky start when a member of our party hit her head hard on a low beam that did not have a 'mind your head' sign when carrying luggage upstairs. No apology or indeed any checks to see if she was alright, were made ! Following an internal 'meeting' they will invest in a mind your head sign, but never an apology for not warning us of the low ceilings !!

The rooms vary a lot, which is to be expected as a very old bullding with unever floors, but generally the beds were comfy and the rooms geenrally well appointed.

Breakfasts were superb, with a good selection of hot and cold dishes as well as continental options.

I have only rated 3 stars as the combination of our welcome + the fact that this hotel is overpriced at £100 per night B&B for what you get, when compared with other local competitors.

A decent stay, but I would personally not stay here again, there are just too many better options available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#4 of 22 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Stow

Property: The White Hart Stow
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Stow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are intending to stay overnight, there are five rooms to choose from, ranging from the stunning “Stag”, with a free standing bath in the bedroom, to the snug “Fallow”. All rooms have been recently re-furbished, blending ancient stone and woodwork, with contemporary style and sophistication.Some come back hoping to meet The White Hart Hotel’s non-paying guest, a friendly ghost whom the locals have nicknamed ‘George’. He sometimes manifests as a vertical white light after closing time in the bar, but only rarely appears as a figure – and then apparently for a reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The White Hart Stow Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing