We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We booked the 2 family rooms as travelling with extended family. On arrival we were advised the bookings diary had been stolen so details of all bookings for the next year had been lost, therefore one of the family rooms we paid a deposit for had been given to someone else. We were given the four poster room as an alternative. This room was small, dark, musty and very outdated. The bed was very uncomfortable and covered in dust webs. Not exactly en-suite as had an old fashioned shower cubicle in the corner of the room and the toilet was on the landing.

On the positive side, location of the b&b was excellent.

Room Tip: Do not book the four poster room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisandVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for The Limes Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Unfortunately our experience of The Limes is not as complimentary as others I have read. We had an issue with the rooms not being the two family rooms which we had originally booked. It would appear that the details of our booking and others booked for the coming year have been lost, which resulted in one of our rooms being let out to someone else! One of the rooms we were given did not meet our needs, it was dark, small and not en-suite. We also felt that the loss of our details was unprofessional and somewhat concerning.
However, on the positive side The Limes is in a prime position and is within a short walking distance of Stow and if the rooms are what you are expecting on your booking then you will find it adequate.

Room Tip: The family rooms are larger and light. The four poster room is small, dark and dusty with a small ex...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosebudWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I recently stayed at the Limes with my mum and sister for a two night mini-break in Stow. The location was fab as it is only a couple of minutes walk away into Stow which has lots of lovely shops, restaurants and tea rooms to offer. We shared the large family room which was huge! Much bigger than their website shows. Id describe the house as a home away from home, with Graham and Helen very welcoming. There is lots of space to relax including a residents lounge. In fact the room we stayed in felt more like a hotel than a b&b, due to its size. Ive stopped in many b&b's and this one was definitely one of the best comfort and convenience wise. For a relaxing, cheap and cheerful break in Stow, do consider staying at the Limes.

Room Tip: As a girl group the large family room was great for sharing, beds very comfy also!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

All members of my family have stayed here over the past few years when we come to England. The accommodation is perfect. The bedrooms are clean and modern and the full cook breakfasts are wonderful. If you want more space then book the family room which has its own separate lounge. The location is excellent as the bed and breakfast is will in a two minute walk from the local town centre. In addition it is a central location to visit all the small towns and villages in the area. Graham and Helen, the owners, are very friendly and helpful and ensure that your visit is relaxing. I would definitely recommend the Limes Bed and Breakfast when visiting the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: If you want more space choose the family room with its own seperate lounge area.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Busselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This B and B is in a great location, in a lovely town (great for shopping!). We were 3 women walking the Cotswold Way (Canadians). The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The owners (a young couple) were very helpful and we had a pre dinner drink/snack in their garden. The breakfast was very good. The owners have two lovely small children and one large dog, who interact with the guests. We found that charming but others who do not like small children or dogs, might not enjoy that.
I would definitely stay here again. It is very conveniently located on the Cotswold Way.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Although the 3 of us (Canadian women) had only booked for one night, we arrived early and the room was ready. We immediately started looking at our agenda to see if we could squeeze in another night at this very nice guesthouse. We had requested the family room which had two twins and a double in a large classically English bedroom with attached sitting room and bathroom. Lots of room to spread out in! We were on the second floor and there were nice views of the garden from all the windows.

Graham and Helen were nice hosts and the breakfast, served in a beautiful window-filled room, was excellent. There was another sitting room for guests next to the breakfast room. The crowning glory of this place is the garden--stunning gardens on three sides with ponds, trees, flowers and several tables and benches to comfortable sit and read for the afternoon. You could easily headquarter here and take day trips out to sightsee.

The Limes is situated on the edge of town and is back off the street so no problem with road noise. It is an easy walk into the centre of this very delightful village. This was the nicest place we stayed on our 15 day trip and the most inexpensive at 30 pounds per person per night.

They need to develop their website to properly reflect this wondeful property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We were three women travelling together and found this the most spacious B & B we stayed at, with a good breakfast. The house and yard was beautiful and the price was very reasonable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Hart Stow
The White Hart Stow
#8 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#1 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes Guest House

Address: Evesham Road, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $108 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Limes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Limes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Guest House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The Limes Guest House Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing