We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect cottage in a lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi. Garden door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi.
Garden door
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
baiyor
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lilac Cottage exceeded all our expectations. It was quiet, very nicely furnished, comfortable and had every amenity we as first time visitors to the Cotswolds (from the US) could have needed or wanted. Access to nearby villages via rental car or by foot in many cases was easy. Each evening we had a myriad of very good restaurants to chose from; walking around the village of Stow-on-the-Wold day and evening was at our doorstep. I would highly recommend Lilac Cottage as the perfect cottage for a short or extended stay in the Cotswolds!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the views to the garden and beyond
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the Cotswolds and that we were able to provide a comfortable base from which you could explore. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first visit to Stow in the world and Lilac Cottage made it better, wonderful location for local town and the Cotswolds in general. Good to have parking and garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The headboard on the main bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
We're very pleased that we were able to enhance your first visit to Stow on the Wold and thank you for your kind comments on Lilac Cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillr162
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Couldn't have been any nicer. Perfectly located on a quiet street, just minutes from the center of one of the most charming villages in the Cotswolds. Had everything we could ask for. Wonderful, relaxing, romantic getaway.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lilac Cottage and thank you for your positive comments. Reviews by previous guests really do help prospective guests to choose a property.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKarr123
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in charming area of England”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lilac Cottage. The cottage is well equipped and has a period charm that made it just as enjoyable to curl up in a chair with a book on a rainy evening in front of the fire as to be out and about. Both bedrooms are on the back of the cottage, making it very quiet at night and in the morning, and the views are lovely. The only thing that could possibly had made it better would have been a dryer (the washer was a big help though on its own, and there is a foldable drying rack stored under the stairs for use with drying clothes). That being said, we really didn't find any deficiencies at all with this lovely property, and it was well placed in the area with a short walk up to the town square, and only 10 minutes drive to a train station that got us to Oxford in 45 minutes. We loved our stay and plan to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Would have liked a washer/dryer combo vs. just a washer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
We are very lucky to have such a diverse range of visitors to Lilac Cottage from all over the world and we are so happy that everyone likes the cottage and enjoys their stay. However, we are always looking to not just maintain this standard, but to improve where we can and we will certainly look into providing a washer/dryer in place of the washing machine - it would be easier in winter when laundry can't be dried outside.
We would love to welcome you back to Lilac Cottage again in the future.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The lilac Cottage is well worth a visit! A Home from Home!”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The lilac cottage is well worth a visit! We only stayed for two nights, this was definitely not long enough.

The cottage is very well presented and very clean. It is a credit to Dianne and her Cleaner. It has everything you need to survive. Dianne has provided plenty of information about the surrounding area in her information packs.

The cottage is located a short walk from the town centre which has plenty of small shops and plenty of pubs. We ate at the Bell Inn roughly 100yrds from the cottage. The food is great, well worth a visit.

It took a little bit if time to find the cottage as it is tooked away in a quiet location. However if you find sterling close on a map. Which is a small cul-de-sac off union street. You will find the rear entrance to the cottage on the right hand side of the cul-de-sac.

I would recommend Lilac Cottage to anyone and we will definitely be revisiting.
.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about Lilac Cottage, myself and our Housekeeper - who does sterling work and takes great pride in presenting the cottage to the very best standard. We endeavour to provide a comfortable environment and when guests describe Lilac Cottage as "Home from Home" we are very happy.
Concerning the difficulty in finding the property, in the Directions & Access Information I send out I do explain that SatNavs take you to Sterling Close (I have tried to have this rectified, to no avail!) and give full directions to the front door on the cul-de-sac.
Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you to Lilac Cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lilac Cottage was a lovely cottage with everything you needed to make stay enjoyable. Easy walk into town. Thank you for the bottle of Red wine. A nice touch. Just one little niggle. We had snow while staying and found the access steps very slippery. Perhaps a small handrail would be an idea. Thank you for a lovely warm cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2015
Glad you were warm and cosy in Lilac Cottage and that you were happy with the location. Concerning the slippery steps, there is an "ice mat" available which, in this instance, hadn't been put in place and for that, I apologise. Your suggestion of a handrail is a good one and we will certainly follow up on that.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean F
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage, lovely place, but watch out for website pricing”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Yes this was a lovely small cottage to stay in, just right for four. Nicely decorated, neat, tidy, clean and modern inside. Rear garden attractive too, great for summer. Stow is a nice village with some great shops and easy access to other places.
The problem was with the booking - when you go to the Holiday Lettngs website and type in your dates you get one price, but it's not the right one! They contacted me to say they hadn't accepted my deposit because the web price was wrong and the actual price was £50 more. The owner and the agent were all very nice but someone needs to fix the website and the booking process. Strictly speaking it should have been offered to us at the published price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
Thank you for your very kind comments on Lilac Cottage.
I believe I explained the situation regarding the price difference in my response to the previous review - Holiday Lettings insist on publishing a nightly rate and this can't be done accurately for holiday lets such as ours.
I will suggest to Holiday Lettings that, for short stays, all prospective visitors are advised to make an Enquiry rather than an immediate Booking.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing