We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with fireplace Lounge/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with fireplace
Lounge/dining area
Lounge area with door to the garden
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Donna A
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent house in a great location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is an excellent house with everything a family could need. It is exactly like in the photos on the website. A short stroll to the town centre. Stow is in the middle of everything you want to see. The kids didn't want to leave most mornings. The downstairs loo was a bonus. Hope to go back one day.

Date of stay: January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2014
So pleased your family was comfortable at Lilac Cottage and thank you for mentioning the accuracy of the photographs on the website; it's good to know when you book something that it will do "exactly what it says on the tin !" We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed December 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2013
We very much appreciate your positive feedback on Lilac Cottage - we do try to "go the extra mile" to make our guests welcome and give them a comfortable, enjoyable stay.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul R
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The best holiday cottage in Stow”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have been coming to Stow at leaat once a year for a decade and have stayed in a number of cottages there, but Lilac Cottage is the best by a considerable distance. It is perfectly situated - close to town with a lovely garden and a view over the countryside from the bedroom. Inside, it is beautifully designed, very well apppointed and immaculately maintained. It has virtually everything you could want or need, right down to thoughtful little touches like a welcome package of wine and biscuits. Sitting out in the garden is a perfect way to spend an afternoon and in colder weather the interior is a warm and cosy place to keep dry. We are looking forward to coming back soon.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room
Liked least: TV was a bit small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on Lilac Cottage - it is very reassuring for us that we are providing a comfortable stay for our guests. We are always looking to improve where possible and since your stay the cottage has been re-decorated.
We are pleased that you were so happy that you have booked again for next Spring and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super: exactly as described and expected”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Firstly the booking process could not have been more efficient.

This a lovely cottage in a lovely part of the Cotswolds. Just 45 mins from Oxford and Cheltenham and warwick.

I don't usually give 5 out of 5 but it is hard to fault this cottage, perhaps a bigger tv, perhaps a more powerful shower, but this really is nitpicking. The cottage is very comfortable and has everything needed, the digital box with catch up tv and free wifi is great as I could watch a game on my tablet and the news in bed.

There are a few things to keep the kids entertained, but ours as always brought a bag of toys.

The welcome of cake and the china out made my wife's day. She used to work in the community in the Cotswolds and this brought it all back.

The cottage has the perfect mix of comfortable and twee of what you would expect staying in a Cotswold cottage

The location is great and is a great base for exploring the area.

The garden is lovely and I imagine I the summer is lovely to sit out in.

All in all I would prob give this 4.7 out of 5, and is excellent value for money. If you are thinking of booking a 2 bed roomed cottage in the Cotswolds, I don't think you will find better than this.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style and it is obvious the owners care about the guests experience.
Liked least: Slightly weak shower and two arm chairs not that comfy. Nitpicking really here.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we are very pleased that we fulfil guest expectations.
We note your comments concerning the TV and the shower because we welcome objective observations when planning our ongoing programme of improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIDIER S
Blagnac, France
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Lilac Cottage - and such a positive one. We appreciate your lovely comments about the cottage and it reassures us about our endeavours to maintain our standard of quality. We do hope you will return to enjoy Lilac Cottage again. Best regards. Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing