We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very caring and attentive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at Stow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell at Stow
Certificate of Excellence
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very caring and attentive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Thank you all so very much for a superb evening on Friday 15th March. Wowowowow. What a gem! And the piano player was such an exciting, talented and eclectic guy. It was all such fun. I was a little wary when the 7 of us stepped into the bar to a throng of people packed in like sardines listening and singing along to the upbeat piano player. I thought it would be all too much for my 90 year old father (his birthday weekend) and my 85 year old mother. The oldies, middle aged and 20 something's ALL LOVED the vibe. We were a little bit away from the major impact of the noise, nestled inside the restaurant, but we were still very much part of things. The staff were exceptionally attentive and took care of every need. The food was delicious and beautiful served. We WILL be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesAttnToDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    61
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
181
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I have heard a lot about this new opening and whilst staying locally on business thought I'd give it a try. I must say the service was good-friendly, relatively knowledgeable and they compliment the business well.

The food, however, was rather a disappointment. Although presented well our starters were bland and my meat dish was particularly dry. The house red was also poor for an establishment like this and for the price tag, although I did enjoy the Real Ale.

All in all, a pleasant evening but not really of the quality I have experienced at other the well known Cotswold pubs I'd normally visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jibber81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the bell opening week what a joy, the refurb has been 1st class in the Resturant aswell as the hotel rooms, the attention to detail is fantastic, from hair dryers, straighteners & toiletries to the small decanter of port & biscuits in the room. Very high class finish thick carpets very comfy beds, every thing you could need & the staff will bend over backwards to help you! Will be staying again when we want a nice relaxing weekend away. A must visit Cotswold bar/ Resturant/ hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Being relativley local to stow i had heard that the Bell had been bought and renovated so my boyfriend and i went on the opening night, initaially we were going to go just for a drink but decided to also have a meal which was superb! We both went for dishes off the fish specials board, i ate snapper and calamari followed by sea bass both of which i would highly recommend. The waitresses were super smiley and attentive but not intrusive and the pub/hotel has been renovated to a very high standerd whilst still retaining its old world charm and features. Whilst there i also had a tour of the rooms which looked so fab that my mum and i have since been back and stayed the night! The beds are extremley comfy, the duvets and pillows cosy.There was a little noise from the speakers in the bar but all was quiet around 11.15 and we both had a great nights sleep. The rooms are again finished to a very high standard i slept in room 1 and loved all the attention to detail ( blinds that open from the top down so can can admire the view without worrying about anyone looking at you! lovely selection of little shortbreads and brownies and even a decanter of port!)
I will definaltly be visting as often as possible and would reccomend to all. Well done to the team at the Bell, i wish you every sucess i think you have got it just right! Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our hotel recommended the Bell for dinner having heard good things about the restaurant. We have just returned and it was amazing! Strikes a great balance between pub and restaurant. I loved how it was a quite traditional pub but had plenty of modern and contemporary features. All the staff were genuinely warm and friendly. Make sure you have the baked camembert, super tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Freddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We found The Bell at Stow by accident, whilst looking for somewhere to eat in Stow early one evening. It is a few hundred yards from the more central part of Stow but is definitely worth seeking out. What a fantastic place it is! The Bell strikes the perfect compromise between being a great pub and a great restaurant with really excellent food. It has been very recently refurbished (and changed ownership) and as you walk in there is a central bar area which is great, whilst on either side are slightly quieter areas for dining. The menu was great with several specials of the day with a great emphasis on fresh fish with three creative fish options being changed daily. It is very clear they take great pride in specialising in fish but we had a wonderful meal of blade of beef which was exceptional in quality and value. The staff were absolutely excellent, taking great care to look after us whilst remaining very informal. Hen(rietta) and the rest of the team were clearly exceptionally proud to work at The Bell. The place filled up quickly so it is advisable to book. It is also worth mentioning they are exceptionally "dog friendly" with dogs being allowed in the main bar area (where you can also eat from the "main" menu). This is a great pub with wonderful food and one of the nicest places we have visited. The first thing we will now do is not only go back but visit the small number of other pubs that the owners of The Bell have rejuvenated in Warwickshire.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank derosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was absolutely thrilled to come across this super Hotel/pub, we decided to visit Stow for the weekend and take a chance on where to stay. We were so pleased to find a newly refurbished gem!
As it happens, The Bell had only been open a few days, you'd normally expect teething troubles, but, oh no, this place ran like clockwork! Happy friendly, smiling staff who couldn't do more for you. We decided to eat and were not disappointed! The food was exceptionally good, a fish board as 'the specials' heaven for me being a seafood lover!
The bedroom was wonderful too, a tweed theme had been chosen to give a country look, soft plush carpets underfoot, luxurious shower to stand under (for a long time!!) we loved the complimentary port and shortbread left for us too!
There is a quirky bedroom called The Broom cupboard, obviously what it used to be, but it has a double bed and highly recommended for husbands who snore!
We were so lucky to stumble across this place and there be availability because it was the first weekend open, we shall be back for sure, but definitely needs booking! 10 out of 10, a pub that has boutique style hotel rooms!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobe2692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Stow

Property: The Bell at Stow
Address: Park Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bell at Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Stow Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing