We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Afternoon Tea Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treebus

Treebus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Best Afternoon Tea Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Treebus Tearooms give you everything you want for an afternoon tea. The couple running it both go out of their way to please, offering a choice of sandwiches, a choice of bread, a choice of scones, a choice of tea. They even came round with a tasting of some new Chinese tea they had to see if anyone liked it, some kind of dried flower that you put in hot water to release its flavour. It was nice actually. We felt we were in someone's home, their hospitality was second to none.

The odd china plates and teacups makes it very vintage and stylish, the tearooms have windows front and back so really light and they have a lovely courtyard too, although it was raining today : (

There are plenty of tearooms to choose from in Stow but personally if you want a traditional afternoon tea served by people who care and who treat you like guests in their own home then visit Treebus Tearooms, you will not be disappointed. (and they don't rip you off either!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allaboutcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    68
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ignore terrible review this place has new owners!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

After an horrendous sleep at a local hotel we set out to find breakfast. Not knowing the area we asked a passing local and I'm glad to say they recommended Treebus!!

These owners are very new but must be absolute naturals as the service was second to none and the quality of my breakfast was unrivalled by any I've had in the past.

The cafe is decorated with the artwork of local artists, each piece for sale. I like that this cafe supports their work and even took one artists business card. The tables are dressed with vintage china crockery and the whole place has a lovely vintage English country kitchen vibe.

The owner was quick to tell us that his menu is more of a rough guideline than a prescribed list of options and that we could just ask if we wanted different combinations.

I opted for the full English (the menu is little more descriptive than that) and I chose to see how it came rather than ask what it included. I wasn't disappointed as it was fantastic but if you'd want more information on the included items I'm sure the owner would talk you through.

My partner ordered smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toast which didn't disappoint either.

All round a lovely place and if I lived in the area I'd certainly be a regular!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“New owners making a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Finding a tea room in Stow is not difficult as the choices are many. We made a selection without any knowledge but were delighted with our choice. The owners had taken over the restaurant and were seeking to establish themselves in a competitive market. We can only hope they do so as their service and food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent tea room.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited Treebus tea room for lunch, today. As others have said, the tea room is well persented, uses fine china, and has excellent service. The new owners, (we didn't know at the time) are proud to say that all the food is made from scratch.

My wife had an excellent soup and I had a baked potato that was very good, as well. Most of the ingredients are locally sourced and all are of very high quality. The place was busy and many other customers were complementary about whatever they were served.

We will return soon. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JetravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A group of us called here for afternoon tea last weekend. The owners are new to the buisness but you would not think so. The crockery is old fashioned bone china and the whole place has that 'time gone by feel'. It is very clean and well presented. The home made cakes are to die for as is the soup. We were made to feel very welcome. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frodman196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treebus also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Treebus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing