We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An excellent day out - and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Cricket Museum

Cotswold Cricket Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
kent
Level Contributor
511 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“An excellent day out - and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A superb new attraction in this stylish town. Allow two hours at least to see the huge array of memorabilia in this excellent museum, hosted by Andy who really knows his stuff. The food downstairs is cooked fresh and there is a superb array of cakes and drinks to choose from in this large cafe which has been stylishly laid-out with some plush settes too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    5
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Knocked for six!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have visited the Cotswold Cricket Museum (a privately run business, not attached to any county cricket club) twice in the last week. The first occasion, on Wednesday, was to listen to the world reknowned cricket writer and historian, David Frith, and the second time was to visit the museum itself.

David Frith gave a commentary to a DVD of the 1928/1929 Ashes series in Australia. We saw footage of Don Bradman (thought to be the first), Bill Woodfull, Archie Jackson, Clarrie Grimmett and Bertie Oldfield of Australia and Wally Hammond, Jack Hobbs, Herbert Sutcliffe,Douglas Jardine, Harold Larwood, Maurice Tate and George Geary of England (amongst others). Frith described the scenes and explained how the Aussie Test grounds have changed since then.

Frith then talked about the long process whereby he made good his vow, as a teenager (having briefly met Alec Bedser), to become a cricket writer. His passion for the game remains undimmed.

I went round the museum yesterday after having sampled some lovely coffee and a piece of cake in the cosy Grace cafe.

If, like me, you love cricket then this museum is like Aladdin's cave!! There is a treasure around every corner. For example, there is a Don Bradman section with various souvenirs of his career. There is some commemorative chinaware celebrating the deeds of famous cricketers such as SF Barnes. There is a display of cricket bats from the earliest days of cricket up to more modern times.

There is a large cabinet with a selection of tour blazers including, amazingly, Eddie Paynter's blazer from the Bodyline tour in 1932/1933. Jack Hobbs' bat from the 1928/1929 tour is also there (his last England tour to Australia).

You can see Dickie Bird's umpire's coat from the first World Cup final in 1975.

There are pictures of some of the ships which took England cricketers away on overseas tours.

There are some letters including one from Alec Bedser to Lancashire CCC commenting on a youthful James Anderson's bowling action!! There are also mementos from Alec Bedser's career including medals and cups etc.

There are various caps, sweaters,bats and balls to be viewed as well as a whole variety of prints and pictures.

There is a section devoted to Gloucestershire CCC plus there are some Worcestershire CCC artefacts..

There is a framed item with correspondence related to the Bodyline tour. There are plenty of books on cricket too.

The owner also has a selection of DVD's which you can watch plus some cricket commentaries to listen to.

The main advice I can give you is to allow enough time to do this wonderful museum justice ... all the above and more for £3.50!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We came across the Cricket museum by chance, my other half was very excited about this visit. It's situated above a tea shop, where you purchase your ticket and enter up a staircase in there. It was all so very personal, most items of clothing were not in cabinets so you could see them up close. There were lots of memorabillia, clothing and a back ground tape.
When we were leaving we said to the lady in the tea shop how much we enjoyed the visit, and she said it was her husbands personal collection from over the years and how finally she could move everything from her 3 bedroom house to somewhere to display it properly. For a personal collection it's amazing especially some of the art and clothing from some very very famous cricketers. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent few hours to spend with your time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was the day before the storm & it was raining, so we popped into this lovely coffee shop museum and I'm glad I did. It was an excellent find with plenty of memorabilia on show & plenty of great stories, not to mention videos & tapes to watch & listen. Andy the owner knows his stuff & has spent plenty of money & time putting this museum together, he even knew some of the players that I knew from his days back in the Surrey Championship!
Well done to you both & keep it going - thank you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have just returned form a short break in Stow with my father who is an avid cricket fan so this was the first place we visited and would highly recomend it, the owner Andy and his wife are very freindly and welcoming, Andy came up while Dad and I were looking round the museum to see how we were getting on and even got out Len Hutton's boots and pads for Dad to have a closer look at. We were only in Stow for 3 days but went here twice....... second time we had a coffee to and one of the best coffe's I've ever had! Even I found really interesting and I'm not a fan.... loads of history and memorabilia from years ago up to the present day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotswold Cricket Museum also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cotswold Cricket Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing