We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I were very much looking forward to spending our anniversary in one of the superior cottages attached to this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, we did not have a superior experience.

Firstly, the standard of cleanliness in the rooms were not up to scratch. There were dirty stains and marks on the carpet and rug, large cobwebs and ill - fitting curtains. All in all, not what we were expecting for a rather expensive room.

Breakfast was also disappointing. The waiter dropped coffee on the table which wasn't a problem as accidents happen, however he just left it there and didn't bother to clean up. Also, my husband asked for sugar to put on his cornflakes, the waiter suggested that he scrape a sugar cube on it!

The location was lovely and the cottages, if refurbished, have the potential to be lovely. Unfortunately I feel that much greater care needs to be taken. The rooms are in my opinion, worth around £70 per night and not £130 as we were charged.

Avoid!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    93
    37
    29
    18
See reviews for
34
191
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Kings Arms in Stow-on-the-Wold.
I had one of the Outhouses - don't be put off, a delightfully cosy Cotswold stone affair.
You walk into the living room from the front door, a lovely comfy sofa in a room that resembles a living room, albeit somewhat small. A modern shower room lies off the back, whilst sleeping quarters are up the stairs and into the roof of the building.
My only criticism is that you can clearly hear the TV in the adjoining cottage, as there is a lockable door joining both cottages together.
My neighbours were very quiet, so no problem but it gave me the idea of bringing my wife and children next time and booking both cottages for a weekend away !

Room Tip: If you need absolute peace and quiet, ask for a room in the hotel, otherwise the Outhouses are delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THS186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this two night break as a celebration for my wife's birthday but with just weeks notice. We had eaten there before and had a very nice meal, all the more so as they we able to cater for my mother in law's Gluten free diet, which was important as she was to be staying for the weekend too.
On arrival, the reception was busy and we were allocated to room 3 ( one of the cottages) and
Room 10 (in the attic at the top of the very steep stairs) . These could not have been further apart. The cottage room was dark and not very cosy and not really suitable for our needs. The staff managed to move us to adjoining rooms which were in the attic. Room 11 was the better of the two as room 10 was a little small, especially the shower. Both were warm and clean and the beds comfortable. Sound proofing is lacking and we could hear every word of our neighbours tv viewing (celebrity juice and match of the day).

Also as our room overlooked the market square, there was a lot of street noise on the saturday evening as people were leaving the neighbouring pubs (at 2am) . This was however not the case on the second evening (Sunday). The great views from the room at other times made up for this though.

The biggest challenge though was the stairs which were steep, narrow and rickety and not for the infirm or elderly.

Food in the chop house was very good and we thought good value. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and accommodating in getting us moved to more suitable rooms and the place overall was clean. The staff were very accommodating for the gluten free diet!

It was at the top end of the price range but if I could be sure of getting rooms 4-7 I would book to stay there again in future

Room Tip: If infirm or limited mobility, avoid rooms 8-11, which are at the top of very steep stairs (virtuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGHD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on their website. We must have booked last because we got an attic room that, although not great if you're particularly tall, was perfect for our two-day break. Staff were friendly and the location great as it's right in the square. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but a pleasant stay nonetheless.

Room Tip: if you're tall, stay away from the attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakes-pears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The purpose of the trip was just a short weekend break with my wife and was a last minute decision.

Booking process using the hotel’s website was fine – payment collected and confirmation issued.

We checked in mid-afternoon. The hotel is located is on the main square of Stow. You can park on the main square for 2 hours so no problems getting the bags to check-in. The hotel also has a limited number of spaces. At worst there is a public car park a five minute walk away on the edge of Stow.

The hotel building on the outside is very attractive as a listed building but it does make for a quite quirky interior. The reception area did not give a great first impression as bit dark, cramped and untidy. However the check-in staff were very friendly and efficient. An offer to carry the bags was gratefully accepted as our room was up some very steep and narrow stairs at the top of the building. If you have any infirmity I would check when booking the room you will be allocated.

The room itself was very clean, well equipped and very attractive in that it had ceiling beams and overlooked the main square. Only downsides were that it was just a touch too small and the walls are quite thin so you can hear next door (these are just minor points though). Most importantly it had a comfortable bed!

Following a stroll around Stow on the afternoon we spent the evening in the hotel. The bar is cosy but it can get a little cramped if busy. For real ale aficionados the choice is a little limited (Greene King) but I was pleased to see they had Stowford Press cider!

The evening meal in the restaurant was really good. While the menu was not overly extensive the quality was excellent and I enjoyed one of the best rump steaks I’ve ever had. Both staff waiting on were very attentive, chatty and helpful.

I slept very well and breakfast in the morning was excellent!

Overall we enjoyed the visit very much and would strongly recommend. It was great to visit Stow at the end of winter on a cold crisp day as I suspect it may be overrun in the summer months.

Room Tip: Very steep uneven stairs to rooms 9 onwards so be sure you can get up/down them. Nice view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewOfSaunderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here with friends and really enjoyed the atmosphere. It is a friendly pub with bubbly staff. The rooms were good (although the bathrooms were tiny), and the food was brilliant. It has a quirky feel to it, but it adds to the charm, a great weekend, thoroughly enjoyed by all. Plus great location for exploring! It isn't cheap but the cotswolds isn't in general, so on that basis it is good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365dayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner & myself have this weekend stayed at the Kings Arms for 2 nights in room 4 the 'superior room' - yes the bed was extremely comfortable the room was spacious & the bathroom very nice (other than being freezing in there) not really sure what the 'superior' means!!! No phone in the room, no wardrobe & a window that doesn't close properly leaving a gap all the way round causing a massive draft. Also on arrival & checking through the bedside drawers lets just say a tesco bag was found containing well 'an adults sex toy' - not really what you expect to find in a hotel that has a reputation to keep. The food in the chop house was very over priced for what you actually get although the morning breakfast was very nice & satisfying. Overall the location of the hotel was fantastic & in a beautiful part of the country - a very relaxing break was enjoyed by us both.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippinGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is a quirky raditional Country Inn offering a warm welcome with traditional English food, real ales and wines available both in the ground floor pub and 1st floor restaurant with views of the Market Square, whilst our cosy bedrooms and cottage rooms offer the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the beautiful countryside and local Cotswold attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing