We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$227
$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
$638
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
145
102
39
29
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
102
39
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep stairsthe pubmarket squarecottage roomsold buildingpiesloping floorssmall cottageshower roomfirst floormain buildinglast minute bookingtop flooran evening mealvisit stownice roomfull english breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 334 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just had a lovelly stay at the kings arms we had a really warm welcome when we arrived the staff wre wonderful 2 members even moved there cars so we could park ours which we thougt was a very kind of them as there is only room for 7 cars.
The hotel is set inthe centre of the village the rooms were warm and inviting the only fault was the stairs too the top floor were verry steep and my wife suffers from asthma and she found it very hard too climb them
The food was excellent we cannot praise the staff high enough so so helpfull we will definatly stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

A 500 hundred year old hotel situated in one of the loveliest parts of the uk.
If you like character, this hotel has it in abundance, sloping floors, tiny stairways loads of nooks and crannies. A beautiful restaurant upstairs and a coffee shop/ restaurant downstairs, very lively and lots of fun.
The staff are very friendly, especially Stephanie who greets you on arrival with a lovely smile and is so helpful. Value for money is always important and you get it here. The only problem I had was that I had a bed that sloped and I woke up in the mornings hanging out the bottom of the bed.
I ate there only once, not bad, but a little expensive.
It's a perfect spot for exploring the charming town of Stowe with it's huge array of tea rooms and coffee shops and gift shops.
Also a good base for travelling around the Cotswolds.
I have already re- booked for next April, stay here you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had an ok stay at the Kings Arms. The welcome was warm and friendly, but it went downhill from there. Our cottage was freezing and very noisy - the walls are very thin so you could hear everything happening next door. The safety lights were also annoying, as the room had a green glow when trying to sleep. The bathroom was nice and modern, although water strength was pretty low. Breakfast was rather a farce - the two girls 'serving' were more interested in talking about their hangovers and how little sleep they had got the previous night, and checking their phones. Meaning our tea was forgotten, we had no cutlery or tea cups and our breakfast order had to be double checked. The cooked breakfast was, however, fantastic! This place has the potential to be fantastic as has a prime location in the very pretty market square, it's just let down by inexperienced staff and lacks the small touches.

Room Tip: I would strogly avoid staying in the cottages
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flame1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our standard room was a cozy and characterful suite layout with modern amenities - overall very good. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly...no hassle checking in. The bar was cozy and they do good deals of food and drink together. At breakfast you have to choose either continental or cooked (might have been nice to dip into both but I don't think you can). The cooked was very good. Definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank harvarddavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in room four for two nights. It just happened to be Stow horse fair at the time. We encountered a few minor issues on our arrival which were rectified immediately. We are not the types to keep quiet and slate later. The owners took time to ask our opinions to which we gave honest answers. We felt at all times that we were being looked after and that what we said and felt was very important to the owners and the staff. We would very much like to point out what an asset 'Paula' is to The Kings Arms. She works tirelessly - Its a bit like Faulty Towers, every door you open, behind it there is Paula working away in just about every capacity. Always smiling and asking if we needed anything. We will return. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Room four is high up in the building so there was limited noise from other guests. It is really warm too. If you have any requests or problems do ask the owners or staff they are more than happy to accommodate. Its not fair to slip away and then write a bad review.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dapavajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews