We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our standard room was a cozy and characterful suite layout with modern amenities - overall very good. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly...no hassle checking in. The bar was cozy and they do good deals of food and drink together. At breakfast you have to choose either continental or cooked (might have been nice to dip into both but I don't think you can). The cooked was very good. Definitely recommend this place!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harvarddavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    93
    37
    29
    18
See reviews for
34
191
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Norfolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in room four for two nights. It just happened to be Stow horse fair at the time. We encountered a few minor issues on our arrival which were rectified immediately. We are not the types to keep quiet and slate later. The owners took time to ask our opinions to which we gave honest answers. We felt at all times that we were being looked after and that what we said and felt was very important to the owners and the staff. We would very much like to point out what an asset 'Paula' is to The Kings Arms. She works tirelessly - Its a bit like Faulty Towers, every door you open, behind it there is Paula working away in just about every capacity. Always smiling and asking if we needed anything. We will return. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Room four is high up in the building so there was limited noise from other guests. It is really warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapavajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marazion, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a joy. We were looked after well by the staff who were friendly and bubbly. The food was just lovely and full of flavor and so compliments to the chef. The character and charm of the building is just fantastic and exactly what you would expect of the Cotswold charm. Will defiantly return here again.

Room Tip: Just remember that this is an old building with charm, so flat and straight floors will not be found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenza100783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

just came back from a 3 day stay at this wonderful place in the cotswolds...the rooms were clean and full of character which you would expect from such an old building, the staff were relaxed and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. we ate in the restaurant on our second night and found the food to be superb and the service was great,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r7mwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights with friends at the Kings Arms Hotel which is in lovely Stow on the Wold. Our room was up a very steep (vertical!) staircase but had a lovely view over the centre of the village. The room itself had a modern bathroom which was nice, shower pressure wasn't great however. We found the room to be on a slant which made you feel as if you were falling out of the bed at times but it is an extremely old building so it was a fun bit of character. We had a hire car which was able to be parked behind the pub in their car park (just ask reception for directions as the lane can be tricky to locate). Breakfast was included and there was a choice of muesli and toast or a cooked English Breakfast - both of which were quite nice. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was for the whiskey bar which only seemed to be open at strange times if at all so unfortunately we did not get to experience it. There is an Indian restaurant nearby where we had dinner one night that was nice and many tea shops can be found in the village. There is Wi-Fi available but only works on the ground and 2nd levels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RowieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stow on the Wold is a charming Cotswold town and this property is perfectly located right on the market square. There is limited parking at the rear of the property but you may need help finding which drive to turn in. Keep in mind, this is a very old property. Our room was on the third floor (2nd floor in England) up a flight of extremely steep and narrow stairs to a room, which was clean and modern but "wonky" because the floor slanted in every direction! There was at least six inches difference, in a small room, between the outside wall and the door. We literally kept nearly sliding out of bed! We do understand that this is an historic property and their hands are tied as far as what can be done but at least the bed situation could be dealt with by somehow adjusting the legs on the bed. Other than not getting a very good nights sleep and being glad we did not have a huge suitcase, it was a great hotel. I am not sure if all of the rooms are this way but I would avoid Room 11, if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid room11 and probably all of the second/third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked a table for nine on a not too busy Saturday evening. Started off with dopey bar staff, even worse waiter who was extremely courteous but clearly unable to perform the role. Ordered meals, waiter re-appeared ten minutes later to inform the four diners who had ordered one of the daily specials that it had run out. Wine eventually arrived once we had repeated our request, starters were all OK. Then the main meals - after about an hour we enquired what was happening, from the waiter's expression something was amiss. Eventually he returned to inform us chef had "dropped" the trout ordered by one of the party. When asked where the other 8 meals were he looked even more uncertain. Asked to speak to the owner, but he remained hiding downstairs, spoke to a manager who was unhelpful bordering on rude, and then we walked out and went elsewhere. I honestly believe no food was being cooked and the meals ordered were never gong to arrive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scfpmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is a quirky raditional Country Inn offering a warm welcome with traditional English food, real ales and wines available both in the ground floor pub and 1st floor restaurant with views of the Market Square, whilst our cosy bedrooms and cottage rooms offer the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the beautiful countryside and local Cotswold attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing