We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
438
219
111
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
219
111
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room street parking roll top bath superior room lamb bar area lovely room lovely place old building lovely meal birthday treat pudding sunday lunch nespresso machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here on a Saturday for one night and stayed in room eight which was stunning! So we'll finished with all the little details that makes the difference. The room was spotless and clean. The bathroom was beautiful, great big rainfall shower, huge freestanding bath, both were so luxurious and delightful. The bed was very comfy minus feather pillows which we just can't get on with. But personal preference.
The room was very warm so we had to have the fan on as the window didn't open.
The hotel has WiFi but it's pretty poor, it throws you out every hour and as a guest that's not great, I think separate WiFi for guests would be better.
Parking is tricky! We managed to get a space out on one of the side roads as they have 3 allocated at the back and out the front but are always taken so just be aware you will have a walk to the pub/hotel.
Check-in could do with being clearer, we arrived told to sit in the bar and wait and we were three and saw people keep getting checked in before us and there is one gentleman doing check ins which seems so silly and so unclear what to do or where to wait, bit frustrating.

But room, location and Vibe was great.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Toast2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have taken all of your feedback on board. We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did not eat or stay here, but am leaving a review of the staff. I tried to get Sunday lunch which was fully booked, no problem. However, the way the restaurant staff dealt with us was rude, unpolite and unhelpful. You should care as much about potential customers as actual customers.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you would like to discuss your experience further the General Manager would be more than happy to do so, please feel free to contact us on book@porch-house.co.uk. We hope to hear from you soon.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tried most of the pubs in Stow on the Wold and this was the best. What a lovely atmosphere in the oldest pub in the country. Great decor and lots of books and crannies and side rooms.
A good choice of beer and friendly staff so I would recommend a visit.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you'll be back again soon!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in to The Porch House on a very busy Saturday afternoon. We were eventually given our keys and shown to our room which proved to not have quite enough room to swing a cat. Have to say the the room was beautifully done out and if it had been larger would have been perfect. Decided to head to the bar for a quick bite to eat but were told, after we had got our drinks, that food service stops between three and six. Nothing written on any of the menus to advise. On getting back to the hotel at 10:45 after dinner we asked for a last glass of wine only to be told that the bar was closed. On understanding that we were residents we were allowed to purchase the wine. The following morning I had to ask for the breakfast menu. My husband had scrambled eggs on toast which were served with truffle on them which he hates - nothing on the menu to say that this was how they would be presented. In this day of allergy awareness I thought this was careless at best. When the team member came to clear we told him of the issue and he said that no they should not have been! After a consultation in the kitchen he came back to say that yes they had been and would we like anything else. No apology. It was too late and we beat a hasty retreat.
All in all very disappointing for a room that was over £120 for the night and seems to be run for the convenience of the staff rather than the customers.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank clairemarie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. The General Manager would very much like to discuss this further, if you wouldn't mind contacting us on book@porch-house.co.uk it would be greatly appreciated. Hope to hear form you soon.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great cosy pub with various areas to sit with sofas , arm chairs and dining tables . We also ate in the conservatory with our cockapoo , who they also made welcome . We had scallops to start and seafood linguine with chorizo which was great . All 4 of us shared there sharing apple crumble with with custard and ice cream which was AMAZING . Our waitress was Sarah who made it a truly great evening, she was very informative, professional and very friendly.
I would highly recommend this place .
Again a big shout out to Sarah who was FANTASTIC.
See you soon

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank neilwC7667CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews