We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
438
219
111
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
219
111
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room street parking roll top bath superior room lamb bar area lovely room lovely place old building lovely meal birthday treat pudding sunday lunch nespresso machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tried most of the pubs in Stow on the Wold and this was the best. What a lovely atmosphere in the oldest pub in the country. Great decor and lots of books and crannies and side rooms.
A good choice of beer and friendly staff so I would recommend a visit.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you'll be back again soon!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in to The Porch House on a very busy Saturday afternoon. We were eventually given our keys and shown to our room which proved to not have quite enough room to swing a cat. Have to say the the room was beautifully done out and if it had been larger would have been perfect. Decided to head to the bar for a quick bite to eat but were told, after we had got our drinks, that food service stops between three and six. Nothing written on any of the menus to advise. On getting back to the hotel at 10:45 after dinner we asked for a last glass of wine only to be told that the bar was closed. On understanding that we were residents we were allowed to purchase the wine. The following morning I had to ask for the breakfast menu. My husband had scrambled eggs on toast which were served with truffle on them which he hates - nothing on the menu to say that this was how they would be presented. In this day of allergy awareness I thought this was careless at best. When the team member came to clear we told him of the issue and he said that no they should not have been! After a consultation in the kitchen he came back to say that yes they had been and would we like anything else. No apology. It was too late and we beat a hasty retreat.
All in all very disappointing for a room that was over £120 for the night and seems to be run for the convenience of the staff rather than the customers.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank clairemarie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. The General Manager would very much like to discuss this further, if you wouldn't mind contacting us on book@porch-house.co.uk it would be greatly appreciated. Hope to hear form you soon.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great cosy pub with various areas to sit with sofas , arm chairs and dining tables . We also ate in the conservatory with our cockapoo , who they also made welcome . We had scallops to start and seafood linguine with chorizo which was great . All 4 of us shared there sharing apple crumble with with custard and ice cream which was AMAZING . Our waitress was Sarah who made it a truly great evening, she was very informative, professional and very friendly.
I would highly recommend this place .
Again a big shout out to Sarah who was FANTASTIC.
See you soon

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank neilwC7667CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2020

Really enjoyable 1 night stay with our 8 month old baby. We were really lucky as the Porch Inn had recently received a fantastic refurb so our room was immaculate and very nicely done, refreshed but still traditional with nice little touches such as the old books scattered around the room. The dinner further added to our enjoyable stay, including the best Camembert we have ever had as a sharing starter with A LOT of mini brioches + also delicious apple crumble (again large 'sharer' portion!) Top marks to one of the managers Ash as well, who went out of his way to make us feel very welcome.. taking time to talk to us about the fantastic history of the pub, the beer, food and area! ...Having worked in a similar pub before, his efforts were noted and also very much appreciated. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V3973MCjoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed everything so much, and have to agree the camembert is very good! We hope to see you again very soon!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2020 via mobile

Really nice place. Terrific atmosphere, beautiful surroundings and excellent service of delicious food and drinks. First time visited and was charmed. Definitely will come back there. Fantastic restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PiotrP1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback and its great to hear that you had such an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again very soon.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews