We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Stow-on-the-Wold
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
405
215
107
56
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
405
215
107
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room limited parking street parking superior room roll top bath bar area lovely room lamb old building lovely place birthday treat lovely meal nespresso machine pudding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a lovely hotel with very helpful staff but the standard room we had booked was very small. Staff were really helpful and we upgraded for the second night to a much bigger room (6) on the second night. We had a lovely meal we our friends, with good service.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank bestallsorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope that you will return very soon! If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this as a small break from my wife and I for her birthday. We booked the cosy room but was plenty of space. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Didn't eat here unfortunately as we'd pre-booked elsewhere with friends. but did spend the evenings in the bar and will be back, Thanks!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andrew,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very happy to hear you had a great relaxing stay! We hope to see you soon and that you'll be able to dine with us next time.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the plus side the staff are all very pleasant - when you could find them! Upon arrival we searched every one of several public areas twice before locating someone who could check us in.
And, after our Xmas main course was served - with no discernible gravy/sauces one of us eventually found the kitchens and requested rectification of this before we had finished that course! However, the food was to a very good standard, as were the wines and beers.
Our room was comfortable and clean, and as we requested high in the building to minimise noise, but we would not recommend room 5 as the sloping ceiling/beams could be an obstacle and there was no wardrobe, or even hanging rail for our suitcase contents. Other rooms are probably better we believe.
Although advertised with free WIFI several of the bedrooms suffered from intermittent, or no signal, and those occupants gave up in the end by using their cellular connection, or going downstairs.
Frustratingly the hotel only had 3 or 4 car parking spaces, not really reservable and a dozen short of what was needed. Granted it's an old building originally designed for horse and cart but out of season, it took several laps of the town centre to discover no on street parking alternatives and had to use a public pay car park some distance down.
Breakfast was very good, and service equally so, but could not understand why that standard did not apply to the coffee machine! - a single old filter paper percolator that took up to 10 minutes to fill the jug that then would serve 4 people of the 20 odd waiting! We were tempted the second morning to bring downstairs the Nespresso machine from our room! All in all, a few things that could be rectified for the significant B&B cost.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback. We take all feedback very seriously and are going to look into the points you have raised. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and enjoyed the service, and are looking into improving our wifi and will look into improving our morning coffee situation!

If you have any more questions please don't hesitate to contact us,

We hope to see you soon,

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, the stay was very good. The communication prior to our stay was not. Numerous messages unanswered and emails ignored. However, once contact was made, confidence returned! We had booked five rooms - again, some better than others and quite pricey - I booked direct with the hotel. Parking was not straightforward but no great issue - it is on street parking. The hotel is old and quirky - an excellent venue for our group; very convenient and central. The welcome was excellent and the staff and food too. 12 of us had a dinner on the Saturday evening and it was superb, using their private dining room facility. Be aware that even as a resident, you have to abide by licensing laws and therefore cannot order a drink after hours. The hotel part I am assuming, is run by another franchise? Drinks cannot be put on your bill, but paid for at the time of purchase. Again, no great issue when you know.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JudyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Judy,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are sorry to hear about the prior communication, but are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. We hope that you visit us again soon, and if we don't see you before, have a great Christmas!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked this meal weeks before and were looking forward to it as it had received excellent reviews.

We were seated to our table and did have to wait longer than expected to have our order taken, so long that we knew what we wanted for the entire meal which the head waiter apologised for. We had ordered a few nibbles and a main, along with two drinks. The first of our nibbles arrived before receiving our drinks. We were left waiting on a bowl of olives which appeared to have been given to the table behind us as an apology for having to wait so long for their meal. A waiter did go and chase up our drinks however after waiting 10 minutes and that same waiter coming back to simply clear the table next to us and ignore us we decided we did not want to proceed with his meal and walked out.

They looked under staffed for a Saturday night. For the prices that were. Wing charged I refused to go along with this charade.

Would not recommend and will not be returning.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gina,

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear about your experience with us. We are taking the feedback very seriously and will ensure that all of our team are aware of the points you have raised. We hope that you will return in the future to experience what we really have to offer. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews