We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveler rating
389
205
100
55
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
389
205
100
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub feature room limited parking lovely old pub roll top bath superior room street parking bar area lovely room lamb old building lovely place birthday treat cooked breakfast sunday lunch full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't know if we just caught them on a bad day or if we stepped into an alternative reality based on the other reviews. In case there is any confusion or question of authenticity for this review my receipt is attached!!

Starting with the good. They do a decent pint of peroni. There, that bit's done.

The not so good. A feta cheese and tomato bruschetta placed on the table minus any cheese or explanation. We should have cancelled the rest of the food and left then. When we asked we were told they had none. This was the start of service... To be fair they then offered some normal goats cheese.

Our mains arrived after 40 minutes which , if they'd been cooked from scratch would have been understandable. My roast pork was dry, the gravy tasteless and potatoes obviously reheated from who knows when. I still faired better than my wife who was served a bland fishcake , chips which were as bad as my roast potatoes and a "hollandaise" sauce which had more in common with scrambled eggs. It wobbled when touched with a fork. Well

Another surprising, but small point was how confused the member of staff was when we asked for fresh cutlery for our main course. We shouldn't have been surprised considering they put down one fork and three knives for four people at the start.

To end on a good note, The Sheep just over the road also does a good pint of Peroni and better quality food.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at The Porch House. I would very much like to discuss this further with you, if you are able to contact me on GM@porch-house.co.uk that would be greatly appreciated.

Look forward to hearing from you,

Many thanks,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

How this place sometimes gets 4 & 5 star reviews Ill never know. Room 10 is damp, smelly and horrible. Mould is growing inside and outside the shower cubical. The room is so full of moisture that the bedding and our clothes where smelly and damp.
Only 3 hangers in the wardrobe. The bathroom sink is so tiny with a slopping glass shelf above its impossible to clean your teeth, let alone wash. Its only possible to get in out out of the double bed one side. The price range for such a poor quality and and tiny room should be in the £50-60 marks and certainly not £130-£150 range!

Staff were sitting at the table directly outside our room window smoking, we do not smoke so don't like the smell coming in.

Restaurant service was less than average, food quality was poor, under cooked vegetables and roast potatoes must of been left over from the lunch time session as they where stewed and horrible. Staff at the meal sessions and breakfast session are not really dressed appropriately for servicing food, it sort of makes you wonder what the kitchen standards are like?

We wanted to make our points known when we checked out but an unhelpful member of staff said you have to go to the bar to check out , after waiting some time at the bar no one came so we left the the key and departed. They need to contact us we haven't paid for the Sunday evening meal, to which we will expect some level of discount !

Room tip: Avoid this place its over rated
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank glrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here with us at The Porch House. I would very much like to speak to you personally about your stay, if you could please email me at gm@porch-house.co.uk to discuss this it would be greatly appreciated.

Look forward to hearing from you,

Many thanks,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Great place to stay. Staff are excellent, rooms are great with excellent shower, comfy beds and great facilities. Dinner was good - very tasty roasts, and breakfast was a great start to the day. Parking is a bit tricky but we got lucky and bagged the spot just outside the front door!! Full marks the The Porch House.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 758PaulH758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

We loved the hotel - full of history, with sympathetic and comfortable furnishings. Lots of quirky corners in this very old building giving it so much character. Our room was extremely comfortable with a lovely bathroom. We ate in the restaurant for dinner - starter and deserts were excellent but main course very disappointing, missing some of the ingredients described on the menu. The dining room is very attractive with a traditional/historic feel. Unfortunately, the background music was very loud and extremely lively pop music which did not match the lovely ambience of the room. We were told that Head Office insisted on this music and it could not be changed. We listen to all styles of music so it wasn't a question of personal taste but it totally spoilt the atmosphere for a relaxed meal in a lovely setting. Had we not pre-booked dinner as part of our reservation we would have eaten elsewhere! Breakfast was first-rate. All staff were very friendly and attentive.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank posylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful evening here on our journey from Scotland to Portsmouth. Staff very welcoming, informal but professional. Lovely room , just right for having a view over the village . Restaurant was very good . A few folk were moaning about time for service .... it was fine ... everything made to order. I like my dinner to last a wee while ! Will definitely be back . Thank you .

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 572susand572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews