We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stow-on-the-Wold
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room street parking superior room roll top bath lamb bar area lovely room old building lovely place birthday treat pudding nespresso machine stayed here for one night cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 841 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2019

We enjoyed our stay in your wonderful old building but for the price we paid we had expected a better experience.
Our room was lovely and clean but noisy from the bar beneath, the window was nearly impossible to close and the shower fell apart repeatedly.
Your lovely dining room was not open so we were put in the conservatory. The atmosphere was blighted because other guests were complaining about the speed of service and delivery of the wrong meals. We were luckier until we had to refuse undrinkable coffee. We dined elsewhere thereafter.
The breakfast buffet was unimaginative. The fruit was meagre and bruised and the water for tea and coffee tepid. Service at breakfast and in the separate reception/checkout room was compromised because a single staff member had to deal with both. We were also concerned that room keys were not secured but left on an open table.
Overall quite an expensive three nights which was not as enjoyable as it should have been for the sake of small details.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Michael,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we take all feedback very seriously and take on board what you have said in order to improve for the future. We hope that you will visit us again in order to experience what we really have to offer!

Many thanks again,

The Porch House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

My Father and I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful, old hotel. It's been so well renovated, preserving all the old features but making it comfortable and luxurious. Lovely characterful bedrooms with beams, fireplace, big comfy bed and high spec power shower. The bar & eating areas are stunning with stunning flagstone floors & beams. I was returning to the Cotswolds for a holiday after moving away 6yrs ago, and I am so glad we stayed here. I couldn't recommend it more highly. Lovely staff & great food too.

Room tip: Room 7 was beautiful & spacious - on the road side but quiet at night. Room 5 is in the eaves - not as big, but lots of character.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJHind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Porch house reviews are pretty good. I agree that the oldest inn in England is very attractive. The room we stayed in was delightful, looking on to the green. Friends stayed in a smaller room looking on to roof, best to check which rooms you are staying in. The chamber staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bar staff also friendly. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked the day we arrived, a good idea to suggest reservations made when booking. Breakfast on the first morning was well stocked, although tables in the conservatory were dirty. Unfortunately the 2nd morning was very disappointing with no continental breakfast available as previous morning, and crusts for toast. Poached eggs are good. A shame about breakfast, as have seen other reviews with same complaint. Stow itself is a pleasure to wander around, and strongly recommend visiting the local galleries and craft shops. We ate at Lobsters fish restaurant and were delighted with food and service. Also the Prince of India, with good food and back in time decor. A good short trip to Stow.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bevkan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback! We love to see ways in which we can improve, and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We will take this feedback on board and hope to see you in the future!

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

The Porch was delightful and the staff was helpful and attentive. The room was large and decorated in perfect english cottage style. Having a restaurant/pub on site is a plus for a Sunday night stay. Stow-in-Wold is a charming town. Worth the stop !

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Dyan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Very relaxing atmosphere and the staff were all warm and welcoming. Food and drink choices were varied.
Stow is a great base to explore the Cotswolds and beyond.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone considering coming into this area

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KeithJ1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews