We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stow-on-the-Wold
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room street parking superior room roll top bath lamb bar area lovely room old building lovely place birthday treat pudding nespresso machine stayed here for one night cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 841 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

I’ve visited here on numerous occasions and it has never disappointed. The building is cosy and full of character. The food is delicious & the staff are always welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend and will most certainly be returning again soon! Worth a visit if you are near Stow-on-the-Wold.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Little_little_bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

I had read about The Porch in Stow on the Wold in a Condé Nast article. I thought a Pub stay would be fun and central to the village. It was highly regarded for the rooms and food. Although the bed itself was excellent, sadly, The Porch was otherwise overrated. The room was so small we could not both have our small suitcases open at the same time. The carpet was stained - no yoga for me!. The bathroom sink so small that we could not even rinse our faces without getting the floor sopping wet and a bump on the head from the shelf above the sink which was set at an angle so all products fell into the sink. The WiFi reception was very unstable and every time you’d get booted off WiFi you had to take minutes filling out a form to get back on. The staff was invisible and no one answered when we called to have water sent out to our room (which was outside the main building). Although we were told that the dining room reservations were filled, we were assured that we would get the same food in the attached pub with no wait at any time we wanted. Of course that was not the case as it is a popular pub being the oldest in England with very nice bar tenders. We were told that we could not order food in the back section which was warm (weather outside was freezing!) so we took the only table which suddenly became vacant and it was by the door which people came in and out of throughout our meal. I kept my down jacket on through dinner. Food was particularly mediocre (Can’t imagine what Condé Nast was thinking unless it’s a new Chef) and when we walked back out after our meal there were people in the warm back section eating (which is where we were told we could not order food). Breakfast was not at all delicious. I won’t bitter to describe. At least there was a person present to take our order. There was no one there to answer our questions about check out so we told the server that we would leave the key in the room and we left. We had asked about an upgrade but we were told it was sold out. The thing was that I went online later that evening and Expedia seemed to say that there was another room available. Honestly I would not have minded so much except that the room cost UK150.00. Way way way over priced for the quality of the room (low end mediocre), service and food. If you still want to stay at the oldest Pub in England overnight make sure that you do not stay in atom 10!!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ALNeiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us at The Porch House. The General Manager would very much like to discuss this with you personally, if you could email him on gm@porch-house.co.uk we would very much appreciate it.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

6 of us went for lunch, 2 had fish and chips and one had fish cakes , another had bubble n squeak and the last two sandwiches. I didn’t fancy any of the sandwiches options so they kindly made me a cheese and ham which was lovely served with chutney but they didn’t butter the bread... weird. The restaurant was busy but the two lads serving kept on top of the orders and drinks. Nice meal was had by us all so we would go back.We hadSunday lunch last time we all met up here which I did prefer.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 3wko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

On arriving at this 5* establishment the first thing we had difficulty in doing was parking. Once we had done this we went into the reception area and had to wait for someone to attend to us, after ten minutes, a person turned up and said do you need anything, we said check in please, they said (at 14:10) you cant check in until 3pm and promptly disappeared leaving us just stood there. Another member of staff passed through and asked were we waiting for something etc, this gent who does not normally work at the Porch House said I will see if your room is ready....which it was and took us to the room. When we arrived at the room only one person at a time could get into the room without first closing the door and clearing the space allowing the next person to gain entry....can this be H&S compliant. We tried the TV which was broken We went for a walk to allow the TV to be rectified, we were informed the TV could switch on but we could not change channels so they offered us a room in the 4* hotel across the road. By this time our confidence in staying in this hotel was zero due to the poor customer service and the failure to ensure the room was in full working order and the assumption that we would want to stay in another hotel was arrogant to say the least. To conclude, first impressions of any establishment has to be perfect, secondly, if you are going to run a successful business, customer service needs to be a key factor. We found another hotel and felt valued

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank UkLegend68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Hi there,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us at The Porch House. The general manager would love to discuss this with you, if you could please contact us directly at info@porch-house.co.uk it would be greatly appreciated.

We look forward to hearing from you,

Many thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, very warm welcome and delightful room. Extremely comfortable bed. Good breakfast but you need to pay extra if you want anything cooked, which was a bit disappointing. Other than that, I can’t fault it.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Departure570414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews