We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stow-on-the-Wold
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room street parking superior room roll top bath lamb bar area lovely room old building lovely place birthday treat pudding nespresso machine stayed here for one night cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 841 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2019

Historic Hotel with great character and lovely spacious rooms and their English breakfast is first class! The staff are friendly and helpful, so much so that when the local taxi firm let us down, Roman one of the staff was kind enough to give us a lift to Cheltenham races! Fantastic all round stay and will certainly return soon.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

We booked a feature room for a last minute stay, but found it to all be a bit disappointing. The room itself was nice, and very large, but it was right above the bar so very noisy, well into the early hours of the morning. The mattress was incredibly soft so this coupled with the noise from both the bar and the road meant we hardly had any sleep. The bathroom was nice, but could do with a deep clean in the shower and some re-grouting. The staff were perfectly pleasant but didn’t go above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Overall it was an adequate stay but expensive for what we got, especially out of season. We would not return.

Room tip: Don’t choose the room above the bar unless you are night owls.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sophiegarneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesOHanlon, Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Hi Sophie,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at The Porch House. We would very much like to discuss this further with you, if you could please contact us on book@porch-house.co.uk we would greatly appreciate it.

We look forward to hearing from you,

Many Thanks,

The Porch House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is set in the middle of a beautiful English countryside town, has amazing character throughout the building. Room was luxurious even if small but perfect for me on my own and what you’d expect. Decent food.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Pooshmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

If you’re looking for somewhere to stay in the Cotswold, then this is a great place to base yourself. The accommodation was beautiful, clean and in a great location. The staff were excellent and really personable.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank cmulgrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

We stayed the weekend along with a couple of friends. Overall the place was very pleasant and we liked the room, which had a bath and a small walk-in shower. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice on the hot menu.
Couple of small niggles, not being allowed to check in until 3 - 3:30 and the minute car park, though neither caused us much of a problem as there’s plenty of street parking around Stow.
Bar has a good range of reasonably priced drinks and the restaurant provided a very nice Sunday roast to which you could add a carafe of wine.
Some interesting historical features in the building as you would expect for such an old inn.
Really enjoyed the experience and will return as there’s lots to see in the area.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank merv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews