We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stow-on-the-Wold
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
423
218
110
57
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in england the pub lovely old pub feature room street parking superior room roll top bath lamb bar area lovely room old building lovely place birthday treat pudding nespresso machine stayed here for one night cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 841 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

The experience of The Porch House makes travelling from the other side of the world (Australia) worth every bit. From the wonderful charm of the building, to the beautiful furnishings and high quality rooms and the excellent food and service,this place has it all and is outstanding. Located in beautiful medieval surrounds, we enjoyed its proximity to other towns as well as shopping the local stores. There's great walks and beautiful gardens. We could not recommend this highly enough.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AnthonyB609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

A great hotel where the staff are really welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We dined in the restaurant and the food was amazing with a good mix of dishes on their menu ... classic and a bit more sophisticated - definitely recommend the salmon and fennel. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Primrosesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Occupying three bedrooms to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday, my wife & I enjoyed a superior room at the very top of the hotel. Tastefully furnished, clean, tidy and up together, our room reflected the history of England's oldest inn. The atmosphere in the bar was very pleasant, the staff well drilled and attentive to our needs as a family. Likewise in the restaurant, the food was of a good standard, the waiting staff on top of their game. We were disappointed to find ourselves awoken by the fire alarm before 0700 hours but I haven't taken this into consideration when 'scoring' the Porch House as the manager made good his apology.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jasonk551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Myself & my husband had a lovely meal here a few nights ago.
Beautiful room with an elegant feel finished off with candles on all the tables do felt romantic.
We both ordered starters , main & shared a dessert.
We both enjoyed our food very much with good size portions & a fabulous bottle of wine !
The staff were courteous & polite.
Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank melanies441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Melanie,

I read your review with gratitude - thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes,

Alex Davenport-Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Loved the Porch House. Staff was amazing, rooms were very clean, bed was so comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast there, the food was wonderful! The location was perfect to be able to explore the town. We parked in a car park down the street which wasn't too far. Hope to visit again!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews