We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tea room with Proper Tea”

The Old Bakery Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: NOTE: We will be CLOSED from MONDAY 6th November , reopening on Monday 20th November while we take a trip to the Middle East. We are an owner operated traditional tearoom. Much of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre prepared mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas. We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also provide a wide selection of Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone!Vegetarian options are always available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this tea room, we were made very welcome and felt very much at home.
The tea cakes were superb and added to that the fact that my husband had real tea, with a tea strainer made his day.
If we are back in Stow on the Wold, we will certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NoahBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hi NoahBirmingham
Proper tea! Just as it should be and doesn't it make a difference. We serve it this way not because it may be quirky but because it has far better taste. All our cakes are made here and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stop off. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 513 of 596 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

A big thank you to Alan and Jackie for providing such a great service. As the revered Godess of good business sense Alex Polizzi once said "if your business is hidden away then it needs to be special!" Well yours certainly ticks all the right boxes. If it had not been raining we would never have entered the little arcade you occupy but your scrupulously clean gingham table cloths wooed us in and even though it was just for a light snack ( from two very fussy eaters) it was all perfect. From Alan's warm greeting to the well presented offerings we selected. we will definitely make a second visit during this vacation. We strongly recommend anyone seeking a good reliable eatery to visit this establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fulfilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hello Fulfilled
Hidden away we are and indeed you have to be good! But Jackie and I can only be happy serving in the way that we would wish to be served when we are visiting anywhere. It was a pleasure to have met you in both your visits to us and I do trust that you enjoyed your time here. Keep being fussy eaters - its a good trait to have! Best wishes. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I were caught unexpectedly in a bitterly cold snow shower in March and needed somewhere warm to escape to. The Old Bakery Tearooms proved to be just the place with a warm friendly welcome from the one person on waiting duty. The Tearooms has a religious theme to it, but not overly so. Our spicy vegetable soup was very hot and the fact that I was able to order gluten free bread with mine was an added bonus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hi Ray C
Stow has a well deserved reputation for being cold and windy - and when it snows it gets even colder so pleased that you found a warm welcome. We cater for many gluten free diets and much of our menu is suitable, but it is the extras such as GF bread that helps. We share our story with people and our faith is part of that, but as you found, not overly so. Our aim is be a welcoming and comfortable stop. Many thanks. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We came upon this tearoom by chance, with some trepidation after winding our way in via an arcade of closed shops (on a Monday). What we found was a cozy place with absolutely delicious freshly made food and proper tea and coffee. We were spoilt for choice with a really nice menu. I've had coronation chicken once or twice before and thought it was OK, but their's was out of this world! The soup was truly home made and yummy. We were served by the owner who was exceedingly friendly without going too far, and gave the impression nothing was too much bother. The prices were great for the location. We'll be going back for sure when we're in the area again :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hello Leigh A
Thanks for the great comments - fresh food and as much home made and cooked as we can do! Although tucked away many do find us and enjoy their visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes. Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We chose the Old Bakery Tearooms after browsing a few others in the town, and were very glad we did. The interior was nicely decorated, and the Christian messages in the art and leaflets were subtly done without being too forthright. I for one was very impressed by the strength and candour of the proprietors after what must have been a harrowing family tragedy. As for the tea, I must make a point of noting that they use real loose leaf tea here - not tea bags. It is becoming harder and harder to find authentic tea rooms where the tea is of a high grade and made properly. I believe that when you go out for tea, that should be part of what you pay for - and that is definitely the case here. The scones were also very tasty - handmade, fluffy and freshly baked (they were still warm!) Lovely homemade jam, too, and a good dollop of clotted cream. If you're in Stow-on-the-Wold, this is the tearoom to choose.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChiTheCynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hello ChiTheCynic
Thanks for your honest review of your visit to us. Even though we have just redecorated since your visit we have deliberately kept a welcoming feel to the tearoom. We share our story because it affects everyone, not just Christians or non Christians, and we have many an interesting conversation without forcing faith onto people. Its not too much more difficult to take a bit more trouble over making good tea with homemade scones and jam; we ourselves are fed up with being served "manufactured" food in many places, so we tend to serve everything a we would want to find it! See you again! Best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bakery Tearoom also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Bakery Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing