We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed at the lodge 21st and 22nd for my wifes birthday beautiful hotel in a beautiful place room very clean and meals were very good staff were excellent special mention to Debbie and Alan who helped us all weekend lovely gardens must be a joy to sit there in the summer months very central to everything you would want to do in the cotswolds hope to return later in the year Thanks to everyone at the hotel Edith and Trevor Laidler Tyne and Wear

Room Tip: Room 21 very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_laidler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    66
    6
    12
    7
See reviews for
41
190
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a first time visit to stay at a family run hotel in Stow, been in the 1960s for a meal but never stayed overnight, now we know what we have been missing.
Booked over the phone confirmation by email , this even gave us the room number so we could then look on the website, great idea.
Checked in room ready, shown to room by very helpful member of staff who explained everything.
Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent value for money, attentive service in a lovely setting, wine list also good value for money and a good selection.
Big joy comfortable residents only lounge, after meal coffee served there , so plenty of conversation held with other guests in front of a roaring log fire.
The added joy for this hotel is the ample residents parking places, not like some other hotels in the area.
The breakfast , was excellent not the now normal help yourself buffet , served at the table, great.
The room we had over looked the church, spotlessly clean, comfortable. The church bells could hardly be heard. You have to be able to manage stairs but this is on the web site so caused no problems.
The garden in the spring was well looked after and I am sure will be well used in warmer weather.

This is a well run traditional hotel that is a gem, most people during our stay repeats and we will be one of them in the future, sorry we left it so long to try, will not make that mistake again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Well located next to the Church in the village centre with ample parking and lovely gardens, Stow Lodge took my wife and I back to the market town hotels of the 60s and 70's. With a tiny little reception booth, residents' lounge complete with sofas and open fire and deep red patterned carpets throughout, the scene is completed with a traditional dining room restaurant and very friendly personal service.
The bedrooms however have been upgraded to Laura Ashley chic with very clean and bright en suites, comfy beds and soft linen.
Its our sort of place and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The Standard (Coach House) Rooms are a bit small and back on to the busy through road at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdTheLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from my annual R&R from Stow Lodge. Once again I had a perfect time. Feel totally looked after by all the staff. They are so helpful, friendly and professional. The hotel is always spotless and the food was gorgeous. Yum yum proper podged! Love the residents lounge and the stunning fireplace. So cosy. Debbie was so kind about 2 of our party being veggie and Steve the chef was very accommodating. Anthony, Shirley, Lewis and Alan were also so lovely. Already can't wait for next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Suelovespurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stow Lodge Hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind and recover from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The hotel and grounds are so beautifully maintained, the bedrooms are very clean and incredibly comfortable and the food is delicious and there's lots of it! :-) Breakfast kept us going until tea time at 7pm. the chef is lovely. two of us are vegetarians and he went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we were happy. The best part of "The Stow Experience" is the staff. they are amazing. so professional, friendly, kind and they make sure you're relaxing and having a lovely time. Debbie, Shirley, Nicky, Anthony, Alan and Lewis were true stars and are a credit to the hotel. we cannot wait to return and miss our "nook" already!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mandy2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We returned here for a 3 night stay after 23 years still as good, most of the other guests were regulars, reassuring, excellent food, high level of service and standard of hotel would return again. Menu changes every evening offering plenty of choice to suit every taste, lots of veggie options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisada2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good food, service and price in a very pleasant environment with private parking in a lovely location. Friendly staff made this a really enjoyable experience. Lovely gardens so already looking forward to outside afternoon tea !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing