We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Local Pub.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Serving food daily from 12 noon to 9.30pm (9pm on Sundays) The Kings Arms offers traditional classics along side more complex dishes always using fresh, seasonal ingredients. Specials board changes daily with a separate Dessert and Childrens Menu on offer. Our Sunday Menu changes weekly always offer a choice of Roasts alongside a selection of other dishes. Seating is available in our downstairs pub area or in our upstairs restaurant with views of the Market Square.
East Yorkshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly Local Pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Although there few other people in the pub the atmosphere was warm and welcoming with a bright log fire smouldering in the hearth. The pub grub was varied and delicious and a was complemented by a selection of local ales.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Utnapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    142
    51
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Proper Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Chanced upon this charming pub while getting out of the rain and were so impressed! The food was delicious (especially the "proper pie", the onion gravy and gravlax). The service was very friendly albeit slow but it was a busy evening. A real treat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
193 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A pub????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not a proper pub. I was expecting a pub full of character and atmosphere, which The Kings Arms lacked. Also service was very average and slow.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Visited the Kings Arms on Friday night. I had seen reviews and decided to eat here rather than at our hotel. Food and service were both excellent. We ate in the bar area but must have been the same menu as in the restaurant as it was quite expensive.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Next40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy but I wanted more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so I am greedy. The gnocchi dish was delicious but blink and you might miss it. If not for the evidence on the bill I might have concluded I had ordered the starter rather than the main course version. Luckily hubby ordered the burger which came with yummy fat chips, at least half of which I appropriated, for research reasons, don't you know. Nice pub, interesting menu, but beware if you are a hungry vegetarian. You might still be hungry at the end of your visit.

Helpful?
Thank Ozonenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing