We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service, Fabulous Setting, Great Gardens”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
bath
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service, Fabulous Setting, Great Gardens”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here for morning coffee (wish we'd had lunch later in the day) What a fabulous welcome we had the young receptionist who was warm and welcoming and served us freshly brewed coffee - it was delightful . The gardens are truly lovely and a perfect setting to have coffee in - Definitely will lunch here next time - and it won't be too long before returning with visitors!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    82
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
176
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire,UK
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Paid extra for an upgraded room, which was good for the price. In was on the higher floor so a trek up with luggage. Also despite not being a particularly hot day the room was uncomfortably warm, but the traffic noise was too loud to keep the window open, which meant not much sleep!
We ate here which was a mistake, we were offered a table at 7/8/ or 9 o’clock what we failed to realise was that this meant the table was required for the next guests & so we were hurried throughout the meal & expected to eat three courses in less than an hour!
The food is very average & extremely expensive for what it is, my husband’s was raw.
Breakfast was good, but we can not recommend this place & would not stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cats101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great place to stay visiting the Cotswolds Staff very friendly and helpful clean comfortable rooms.Great for anyone who does not want a really modern hotel.Reasonable rates and great breakfast.
Lovely grounds and nearby facilities for weddings etc.

Room Tip: Large four poster beds available and great family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, booking through Saga, two nights B & B, with dinner on the first night, second day was entrance to all areas at Blenheim palace, with champagne afternoon tea in the India Room.
Hotel was great, the staff are superb, food excellent, nothing too much trouble, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible room 305, beautiful room, great roll top bath, lovely outside space with lovely views M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a bed and breakfast package and chose to eat in the restaurant the first evening. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food on offer and ate again in restaurant on our second night it was that good. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was in the Coach House separate to the main building and had it's own small fenced off patio area. The only thing that detracted from it was the floor area of the patio did have some cigarette butts lying and could do with some weeding around the edges. That apart the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is just off the busy Fosse Way so there is traffic noise but we found that quietened down by 8.30 both evenings.. Wifi coverage in the Coach House was poor. If that is important then ask for a room in the main building

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is located next to hyde Barn which is a great wedding venue. The hotel itself is very clean, the staff are freindly and efficient and I really wish i knoew the name of the bar man serving the nioght of 27/7 as he was fab and funny, he also served breakfast the next day. The rooms could be a little bigger, we were on the top floor and found the bathroom large but this could have given more space to the room. Overall it is a lovely little find but a bit pricey for what it was.

Room Tip: 2nd floor but these are prob more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilleybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Firstly, it's worth noting that as a wedding venue, this was great and everything went smoothly. This review is regarding the room we had for the stay.

Room 37 has been mentioned on another post, which I wish I'd read before booking. The room is supposed to be attached to the next room, via a door they close when the bookings are separate. This might as well be made of tissue paper as it didn't block any noise, despite them rolling a towel under the door and putting a 'do not disturb' sign on it - clearly they know it's an issue.

When the neighbouring room returned later in the evening, just them talking at a standard volume felt like they were talking right in our ears. In no way were they shouting, and we could hear every word.

In the morning I raised this with reception who did little more than shrug and say 'we can't help that' (despite clearly knowing it was an issue). They offered a £10 discount which was a tiny fraction of the room amount, which I turned down on principle.

Let the lesson be; 'Go to a wedding here, but stay somewhere else.'

Room Tip: Avoid Room 37 like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pikerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing